Capital One Cup: Can Yorkshire land a first winner since 2004?

Bradford City take on Swansea City in the 2013 Capital One Cup Final.  Picture: Bruce Rollinson.
Bradford City take on Swansea City in the 2013 Capital One Cup Final. Picture: Bruce Rollinson.
Have your say

YORKSHIRE clubs find out their Capital One Cup first-round opponents tomorrow morning, with the county seeking to file another glorious chapter in its proud recent history in the competition in 2015-16.

The White Rose contingent certainly have a tough act to follow after the exploits of Bradford City and Sheffield United in the past three seasons, which captured the imagination of many footballing neutrals across the land.

Bradford became the first fourth-tier side to reach the League Cup final in its various guises since 1962 when they booked their place in the final of the showpiece of the Capital One Cup in 2012-13 - famously beating three top-flight sides in Wigan Athletic, Arsenal and Aston Villa en route to the final, when they went down 5-0 to Swansea City.

Last season, Sheffield United also flew the flag with aplomb for the White Rose in reaching their second successive semi-final in a major cup competition, with the third-tier side beating Mansfield Town, West Ham, Leyton Orient, MK Dons and Southampton before losing to Tottenham Hotspur 3-2 on aggregate in their last-four clash.

But by and large, since the competition began in 1961, Yorkshire’s League Cup history is pretty wretched, despite the recent stellar achievements of the Bantams and the Blades of late.

All told, just three Yorkshire teams, Leeds United (1968), Sheffield Wednesday (1991) and Middlesbrough (2004) have won the competition.

Leeds were losing finalists in 1996, going down 3-0 to Aston Villa, while Boro went down in successive years in 1997 and 1998 to Leicester City and Chelsea respectively.

The Teessiders’ loss to the Foxes came in a replay at Hillsborough after a 1-1 draw at Wembley in the spring of 1997.

The first season of the competition was also noteworthy for Rotherham United, who reached the two-legged final against Villa, with the final contested over two legs in the first six years of its existence.

The Millers looked well set for silverware after winning the first leg 2-0, only to lose the second leg in Birmingham, 3-0.

Goals from Barry Webster and Alan Kirkham gave the Millers a two-goal buffer after the first leg of the final at Millmoor on August 22, 1961, but Villa prevailed in the pivotal second instalment on September 5, 1961 - with Peter McFarland hitting an extra-time winner after strikes from Alan O’Neill and Harry Burrows cancelled out Rotherham’s advantage in normal time at Villa Park.

While only a trio of Yorkshire teams have triumphed in the competition, record winners Liverpool have lifted the cup eight times, with Manchester’s duo of City and United sampling an aggregate of seven successes.

A London team has won the trophy on 12 occasions, while a side from the Midlands have reigned supreme on 18 occasions.

The draw for the first-round is at 10am tomorrow (Tuesday), with the seeded teams split into two regional groups - based predominantly on a north and south split - and drawn against an unseeded team from the equivalent pot on a random home or away basis.

The seeded teams from Yorkshire are Barnsley, Bradford, Huddersfield Town, Hull City, Leeds, Middlesbrough, Rotherham, Sheffield Wednesday and Sheffield United.

First round ties will be played during the week commencing August 10, 2015.