FA Cup: Final repeat for Hull City; Owls, Blades and Leeds draw Premier League opposition

FA Cup final rematch with Arsenal for Steve Bruce's Hull
FA Cup final rematch with Arsenal for Steve Bruce's Hull
Have your say

Hull City have been drawn against Arsenal, the team that beat them in last year’s final, in one of the highlights of the FA Cup third round draw held at The Deep in Hull on Monday night.

Tigers boss Steve Bruce said: “It’s quite remakable. As soon as we walked in everyone was saying we’d been drawn against Arsenal in the rehearsals.

“For it to happen again is amazing. Let’s hope it is a game as good as the final because that was a great game.”

Sheffield Wednesday have been paired with Premier League champions Manchester City, who thrashed them 7-0 in the League Cup earlier this season, at the Etihad Stadium.

Leeds United will go to Premier League Sunderland in a repeat of the 1973 final while Sheffield United - who made it all the way to the semi-final last season - will travel to top-flight strugglers QPR.

Rotherham United and Huddersfield Town face all-Championship affairs on home soil with the Millers hosting Bournemouth and Town welcoming Reading.

There is the potential for a Yorkshire derby with Barnsley being paired with Championship side Middlesbrough, if Danny Wilson’s League One outfit can win their second-round replay at Chester of the Conference.

Bradford City visit Millwall of the Championship while Doncaster Rovers - last out of the hat - host League One leaders Bristol City.

League Two AFC Wimbledon - in the third round for the first time in their 12-year history - will host Liverpool in a match which will have many reminiscing about the 1988 final, won by the original Wimbledon.

There were eight non-League sides in the hat, with the pick of the ties involving those teams seeing Dover Athletic drawn with the Premier League’s Crystal Palace.

Stoke play Wrexham in another match which pits the game’s elite against a side whose memorable giant-killing act was a defeat of Arsenal in 1992, while West Brom host Gateshead.

There will be four all-Premier League ties: Burnley v Tottenham, Leicester v Newcastle and Everton v West Ham, plus Arsenal v Hull.

Chelsea, the Premier League leaders and FA Cup winners in four of the last eight seasons, will host Watford of the Championship.

Louis van Gaal’s Manchester United must go to either Accrington or Yeovil, who first play in a second-round replay.

3rd round draw

Arsenal v Hull City

Manchester City v Sheffield Wednesday

Rotherham United v AFC Bournemouth

Huddersfield Town v Reading

Sunderland v Leeds United

Millwall v Bradford City

Barnsley/Chester v Middlesbrough

QPR v Sheffield United

Doncaster Rovers v Bristol City

Southampton v Ipswich

Stoke v Wrexham

Charlton v Blackburn

Dover v Crystal Palace

AFC Wimbledon v Liverpool

Aldershot/Rochdale v Nottingham Forest

West Brom v Gateshead

Blyth Spartans v Birmingham

Aston Villa v Blackpool

Oxford/Tranmere v Swansea

Cardiff v Colchester

Bolton v Wigan

Burnley v Tottenham

Derby v Southport

Brentford v Brighton

Fulham v Wolves

Leicester v Newcastle

Scunthorpe/Worcester v Chesterfield

Everton v West Ham

Cambridge/Mansfield v Bury/Luton

Chelsea v Watford

Accrington/Yeovil v Manchester United

Preston v Norwich

Ties to be played on the first weekend in January.