Blades looking to join elite group of Yorkshire clubs

Bradford City were Yorkshire's most recent visitors to the League Cup Final, losing 5-0 to Swansea City in February 2013.  Picture: Bruce Rollinson
Bradford City were Yorkshire's most recent visitors to the League Cup Final, losing 5-0 to Swansea City in February 2013. Picture: Bruce Rollinson
Have your say

SHEFFIELD UNITED will look to join an exclusive band of Yorkshire clubs by reaching the League Cup final when they take on Tottenham at Bramall Lane tomorrow night.

Nigel Clough’s side trail 1-0 from the first leg at White Hart Lane last week but, given their propensity for giant-killing it would be no surprise if they were to pick up another Premier League scalp, adding to the five they have enjoyed in the space of just over 12 months.

Since it’s launch in 1960, FIVE Yorkshire teams have reached the final of the competition with Middlesbrough enjoying the most visits having played in the grand finale three times, losing twice to Leicester City in 1997 and Chelsea the following year before finally getting their hands on their first and only piece of silverware in 2004 with a memorable 20-1 victory over Bolton Wanderers, Joseph Desire-Job and Bolo Zenden getting the crucial goals.

Leeds United have played in the final on two occasions, beating Arsenal 1-0 way back in 1968 thanks to a 68th-minute Terry Cooper strike. Their second appearance, however, proved to be one to forget when they went down 3-0 to Aston Villa in 1996.

Sheffield Wednesday fans celebrated wildly back in 1991 when a 37th-minute John Sheridan goal gave them a shock 1-0 victory over Manchester United. Again, though, their second visit to the final two years later ended in defeat when they went down 2-1 to Arsenal, Brian Morrow’s 68th-minute strike settling the encounter.

Bradford City are the most recent Yorkshire visitor to the final, taking the scalps of Aston Villa, Arsenal and Wigan Athletic on their way to the final, a game which proved one too far as Swansea City strolled to a 5-0 victory.

And, in the first year of the competition, when the final was played over two legs, Rotherham United were edged out by Aston Villa. The Millers won the first leg 2-0, but went down 3-0 in the return leg at Villa Park.


1960-61 -Semi-final, 1st leg: Rotherham 3 Shrewsbury 2; 2nd leg: Shrewsbury 1 Rotherham 1

Final: 1st leg: Rotherham 2 Aston Villa 0; 2nd leg: Aston Villa 3 Rotherham 0 (aet).

1967-68 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Arsenal 3 Huddersfield 2; Derby 0 Leeds 1; 2nd leg: Huddersfield 1 Arsenal 3; Leeds 3 Derby 2

Final: Leeds 1 Arsenal 0

1975-76 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Middlesbrough 1 Man City 0; 2nd leg: Man City 4 Middlesbrough 0

1977-78 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Leeds 1 Nottingham Forest 3; 2nd leg: Nottm Forest 4 Leeds 2

1978-79 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Leeds 2 Southampton 2; 2nd leg: Southampton 1 Leeds 0

1990-91 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Chelsea 0 Sheff Weds 2; Man Utd 2 Leeds 1; 2nd leg: Leeds 0 Man Utd 1; Sheff Weds 3 Chelsea 1

Final: Man Utd 0 Sheff Weds 1

1991-92 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Middlesbrough 0 Man Utd 0; 2nd leg: Man Utd 2 Middlesbrough 1

1992-93 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Blackburn 2 Sheff Weds 4; 2nd leg: Sheff Weds 2 Blackburn 1

Final: Arsenal 2 Sheff Weds 1

1993-94 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Man Utd 1 Sheff Weds 0; 2nd leg: Sheff Weds 1 Man Utd 4

1995-96 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Birmingham 1 Leeds 2; 2nd leg: Leeds 3 Birmingham 0

Final: Aston Villa 3 Leeds 0

1996-97 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Stockport 0 Middlesbrough 2; 2nd leg: Middlesbrough 0 Stockport 1

Final: Leicester 1 Middlesbrough 1 (aet); Replay: Leicester 1 Middlesbrough 0 (aet)

1997-98 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Liverpool 2 Middlesbrough 1; 2nd leg: Middlesbrough 2 Liverpool 0

Final: Chelsea 2 Middlesbrough 0 (aet)

2001-02 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Sheff Weds 1 Blackburn 2; 2nd leg: Blackburn 4 Sheff Weds 2

2002-03 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Sheff Utd 2 Liverpool 1; 2nd leg: Liverpool 2 Sheff Utd 0 (aet)

2003-04 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Arsenal 0 Middlesbrough 1; 2nd leg: Middlesbrough 2 Arsenal 1

Final: Bolton 1 Middlesbrough 2

2012-13 - Semi-final, 1st leg: Bradford City 3 Aston Villa 1; 2nd leg: Aston Villa 2 Bradford City 1

Final: Bradford City 0 Swansea 5.