Batley 60 Hunslet 12: Hawks have no answer to rampant Bulldogs

Batley Bulldogs' Scott Leatherbarrow.
Batley Bulldogs' Scott Leatherbarrow.
Have your say

Batley Bulldogs brought the curtain down on their Championship Shield campaign with an impressive victory over relegated Hunslet Hawks.

The ruthless Bulldogs ran in 11 tries to end the season fifth in the table.

Scott Leatherbarrow and Shaun Ainscough had terrific games for Batley as they condemned Hunslet to a 22nd defeat of the campaign.

Leatherbarrow created and scored Batley’s opening try to extend his excellent scoring record to 21 straight matches. Leatherbarrow converted.

Ainscough’s neat pass then sent Sam Scott through a gap and he sent Cain Southernwood over.

Simon Brown intercepted a pass and looked certain to race the length of the field for Hunslet only to be pulled back for offside.

On the back of the penalty, Ainsough burrowed over on the right and Leatherbarrow converted.

Shaun Squires intercepted a pass and sent Alex Brown racing over for the try, with Leatherbarrow’s conversion putting Batley 20-0 up at half-time.

After the break, Leatherbarrow kicked right and Ainscough flicked the ball on for Wayne Reittie to score out wide and Leatherbarrow added the extras.

Day leapt to palm a Leatherbarrow kick back for Squires to score and Leatherbarrow added his fourth conversion.

A delighted Adam Gledhill burrowed over for his first try of the season 25 minutes from time and Leathernarrow goaled before Hawks full-back Jimmy Watson replied with a try, James Houstone adding the conversion.

Anthony Nicholson crossed between the posts on his 100th career appearance and Leatherbarrow again goaled.

Full-back James Craven then broke from his own line and raced 90 metres before being hauled down, although Ainscough crossed on the next play and Leatherbarrow converted.

Watson added his second try for Hunslet, but Batley finished strongly to add two tries in the final three minutes through Alex Brown and Craven.

Batley Bulldogs: Craven; Reittie, Ainscough, Squires, A Brown; Southernwood, Leatherbarrow; Hirst, Blake, Rowe, Scott Day, J Brown. Substitutes: Nicholson, Gledhill, Hesketh, Bretherton.

Hunslet Hawks: Watson; Agoro, Maun, Duckworth, Barnett; S Brown, Ansell; Houston, Lee, Trout, Backhouse, Gee, Grimshaw. Substitutes: Flanagan, Lyons, Brennan, Castle.

Referee: Chris Leatherbarrow (RFL).