Crusaders crushed as Bastian praises rampant Featherstone

Have your say

FEATHERSTONE coasted to a 
12-try win over fellow Championship side North Wales Crusaders.

James Mendeika scored three tries, Jamie Cording and Steve Crossley each bagged two and Gareth Moore kicked nine goals as three-times Challenge Cup winners Rovers eased through to the fifth round.

The Welsh side, who lost 36-6 to Rovers in last month’s league game at Wrexham, were never in with a chance of an upset

Half-backs Andy Kain and Moore were in dazzling form for Featherstone. who led 26-0 at half-time and added 40 second-half points as they cut the Crusaders defence to ribbons.

Andy Ellis sent Crossley twisting his way over for the opening try after just two minutes.

Etu Uaisele had an effort ruled out for a forward pass before Mendeika scored a gift try after Crusaders winger Dan Birkett fumbled Kain’s high kick.

Crossley scored his second before Cording went over from Moore’s pass and Kain grabbed a 75-yard interception.

The one-way traffic continued in the second-half when Moore, Kain and Ian Hardman set up Mendeika’s second score.

Greg Worthington then darted over before Kain’s crossfield kick created Cording’s second try and Matty Dale capitalised on clever play by George Flanagan to score. A move involving Kain, Hardman and Mendeika saw Will Sharp cross and tries by Flanagan and Mendeika completed the rout.

Featherstone coach John Bastian said: “I was really proud of the boys, not just for their defensive work, but how they played rugby league. Offensively, we were superb and left a bit of a trail of destruction.

“Both Andy Kain and Gareth Moore are very dynamic and they are both a real threat when they are attacking the line.”

Featherstone Rovers: Hardman; Uaisele, Worthington, Mendeika, Sharp; Kain, Moore; Crossley, Ellis, Hirst, Cording, Spears, Lockwood. Substitutes: Flanagan, Dale, James, Briggs.

North Wales Crusaders: Wilde; Birkett, Reardon, Roets, Clay; White, Dallimore; Offerdahl, K Ashall, Mills, Reid, Bannister, Wild. Substitutes: McDonald, Walker, Griffiths, Johnson.

Referee: G Hewer (Whitehaven).