Awards celebrate best of Yorkshire farming

editorial image
Share this article
Have your say

Excellence in farming will be recognised at this year’s Great Yorkshire Show in a presentation ceremony to some of the North of England’s finest farmers.

The Tye Trophy Awards are made to the five regional winners from whom the overall champion is selected.

Nigel Pulling, Chief Executive of the Yorkshire Agricultural Society which organises the show said: “Our remit is to encourage and recognise good farming practice, and each year it’s very pleasing to see that the standard remains as high if not higher than ever.

“I know the judges have once again had a difficult task, and we look forward to announcing the overall winner at the Great Yorkshire Show.”

Regional winners are:

North Yorkshire: S and C Coggrave of Church Farm, Tockwith, York.

West & South Yorkshire: WB & S Shaw of Manor Farm, Hooton Roberts, Rotherham

East Yorkshire: Mr G Hawcroft, Holme Lodge Farm, Holme on Spalding Moor

Tyne Tees: Mr & Mrs M Gray, Broom House Farm, Witton Gilbert, Durham

Northumberland: Mr S Henderson of West Fenton, Milfield, Wooler.

Pictured is Mrs Alison Saville, right, presenting 2011’s YAS Tye Trophy to Mr Graham Dixon of Harbottle, Morpeth, the Northumberland area winner.