Region to lose four Parliamentary seats in Commons cuts

Have your say

FOUR seats will be cut in Yorkshire and the Humber as part of plans to reduce the size of the House of Commons by 50 MPs.

The majority of constituencies will be affected by the changes, which will see the Commons cut from 650 MPs to 600 to save money and make all seats roughly the same size.

The independent Boundary Commission has agreed that England will lose 31 MPs, Wales 10, Scotland seven and Northern Ireland two, and the 18-month project to redraw the political map of the UK will now begin. No constituencies will cross national borders, and the Boundary Commission for England says it will aim to ensure none cross regional boundaries either.

But sitting MPs will be left with an anxious wait to see how far their seat will be changed – and whether they face a fight with a neighbouring MP to become candidate in the new constituencies.

The changes are being introduced under the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act, which was passed into law after lengthy wrangling between Commons and Lords last month.

All but a few seats will contain between 72,810 and 80,473 voters, which will mean seats inevitably cross county, council and ward boundaries and override historic loyalties.

Provisional maps of the proposed new seats will be published in the autumn for consultation, before the commissions produces its final recommendations, which must be completed by autumn 2013 in time for use in the General Election expected in 2015.

England’s representation at Westminster will drop from 533 to 502 MPs, Wales’s from 40 to 30, Scotland’s from 59 to 52 and Northern Ireland’s from 18 to 16.

Within England, the North West loses most MPs – seven.