Which of Yorkshire's Tory MPs will support Theresa May tonight

More than half of Yorkshire's Conservative MPs were going into tonight's ballot having declared their support for Theresa May, with one saying the no confidence motion had been the result of 'complete madness' by a minority of hardliners.

However, at least four MPs from the region were likely to vote against the Prime Minister. And in a pointed rejoinder to those relying on the secrecy of the ballot booth, one of her supporters warned that pledges would eventually be weighed against the votes cast.

Kevin Hollinrake, whose constituency covers Thirsk, Malton and Filey, said he was “100 per cent” supporting Mrs May.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

He tweeted: “So easy to criticise from the sidelines but no other deal delivers on pre-referendum promises of frictionless trade, end to free movement, no EU budget contribution, independent trade deals and no hard border in Northern Ireland.”

Prime Minister Theresa May. Picture Tony Johnson.

In a further message, he wrote: “Hope someone is counting all the pledges to support the PM and then compares that with the result.”

Mr Hollinrake’s constituency chairman, Martin Dales, who was at Westminster today, described the mood as “febrile”.

He said the challenge had been triggered by “self-serving MPs, adding: “They need to remind themselves of why they are where they are – they got through a general election which she led.”

The Pudsey MP and Defence Minister, Stuart Andrew, also confirmed that he was siding with Mrs May. “We have to get on with the job and not this self indulgent navel gazing,” he tweeted.

Alec Shelbrooke, MP for Elmet and Rothwell and another loyalist, conformed his support by tweeting the result of a YouGov poll last week which reported that only 19 per cent of Conservative voters believed that a different Tory leader could secure a better Brexit deal from the EU.

Mr Shelbrooke, a vice-chairman of the party, added: “This distraction is unhelpful and I will be supporting [Mrs May].”

The Calder Valley MP and Government whip, Craig Whittaker said: “On a day of complete madness by a minority of Conservative hardliners, I will be supporting our PM.”

The charge from the region against the Prime Minister was likely to be led by David Davis, the original Brexit Secretary, whose constituency is Haltemprice and Howden. He tweeted: “Now is the moment to seize control and deliver our own destiny. Continually kicking the can down the road is not a valid strategy. We must not shirk from the tough decisions.”

The Shipley MP Philip Davies, who is believed to be among the 48 signatories to the vote of no confidence, told The Yorkshire Post that he would be voting against Mrs May.

The Morley MP and staunch Brexiteer Andrea Jenkyns also said she would be voting against the PM, saying: “We need a new PM and new approach to the negotiations.”

Cleethorpes MP Martin Vickers had confirmed earlier that he had submitted his letter of no confidence in Mrs May as early as July.

Meanwhile, the Scarborough MP Robert Goodwill, told The Yorkshire Post that he was “100 per cent behind the PM”.

Andrew Jones, Rail Minister and MP for Harrogate, said: “I’ll be voting for the PM. We would have to be barking mad to replace her.”

Julian Smith, the Skipton and Ripon MP and the Government’s chief whip, said: “Theresa May is the best person to lead both the Conservatives and the Country.”