Ten people put names forward to take on Doncaster mayor role

THE full list of candidates for Doncaster’s mayoral election has been published, with 10 people, including the current mayor Peter Davies, declaring their intention to stand.

Mr Davies, of Bessacarr, will stand as an independent candidate after stepping down from the English Democrat party earlier this year after voicing concerns about its links with the BNP.

The party has replaced him with David Allen, from Sprotbrough, who came second for the English Democrats, behind Labour in the South Yorkshire Police and Crime Commissioner election last November.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ros Jones, a Doncaster councillor for the Askern Spa ward and former civic mayor who lives in the village of Norton will stand as the Labour candidate, while John Brown, from New Rossington will represent the Liberal Democrats.

Martin Drake, a farmer from Fenwick, north of Doncaster, will stand for the Conservatives and Mary Jackson, of Thorne has been nominated to represent the Trade Unionists and Socialists Against Cuts group.

Doug Wright, from Cantley, will be the Save Your Services candidate, while Dave Owen, from Stainforth, is standing for the National Front - Putting Britain First.

As well as Mr Davies, two other independent candidates are set to appear on the ballot paper with Tony Ward, of South Kirkby near Pontefract aiming to take charge of the borough.

The third independent is Mick Maye, a former members of the Alliance of Independent Members on Doncaster Council and a market trader in the town.

Mr Maye came a close second to Mr Davies in the 2009 mayoral election, winning on first preference votes, but losing out on a recount when second preferences were taken into account.

The election will take place on May 2, and the winner will face having to cope with Doncaster Council’s current problems, which include a new examination of its troubled children’s services department which was ordered just a few days ago by education secretary Michael Gove.

Much of the council is also being run under Government supervision.