Aire-Wharfe: Freebury holds nerve to earn Steeton a tie

Have your say

Beckwithshaw put down a marker that they intend to regain the title they won two years ago with an opening day demolition of Guiseley.

Alex Lilley, with a 6.4-over spell of 5-8, and Istikhar Hussain (3-30) skittled the visitors for 74, with Stewart Smith, from Otley, top scoring with 30.

Alexis Twigg then announced his arrival from Harrogate with 13 boundaries in an unbeaten 64 to clinch a nine-wicket win.

Tension was high at Rawdon where Steeton, needing 21 off the final over to win, managed 20 and had to share the spoils.

Rawdon No 7 Ryan Gladwin hit an unbeaten 49 and with last man Josh Hobson (18no) put on 34 to help his side to 208-9.

Andrew Doidge (6-34) looked as though he would clinch the win for the home side but James Freebury (63no) kept his nerve and earned the tie.

Captain James Davies (65) top scored as Otley were dismissed for 181 at Bilton with Sajad Ali taking 4-39.

The defending champions rallied to win by 30 runs, Ricky Halloran the pick of the bowlers with 4-35.

Charlie Davy (61) and Nick Brook (59) led the way in Burley’s 213-9 before Brook (3-40) and Jason Wright (4-47) bowled out promoted North Leeds for 184.

Follifoot fared better on their return to the top flight, Alex Fox’s 65 the highlight of their 59-run win over Ilkley, for whom Jibrael Malik hit a half-century.

Matthew Webb, who was third in Division One batting averages last season, continued his good form, top scoring with 79 in Kirkstall’s 12-run win at Collingham.

Having stormed to the Division Three title last season, Horsforth look set to challenge for a second successive promotion after a convincing win over Thackley.