As BT Sport win Ashes coverage... where to watch sport’s major events

England's Jonny Bairstow celebrates his team's series victory in the Ashes Test at The Kia Oval.
England's Jonny Bairstow celebrates his team's series victory in the Ashes Test at The Kia Oval.
Have your say

England’s 2017-18 Ashes series in Australia will be shown live in the UK by BT Sport. The pay TV operator has agreed a five-year deal with Cricket Australia, starting from 2016, to show games from Down Under.

Here, The Yorkshire Post looks at where to watch major sporting events live on British television:

Olympics - BBC, until 2022 and then Eurosport (likely to sub-license some coverage)


Premier League - Sky/BT Sport

Champions League - BT Sport

Football League - Sky

FA Cup - BBC/BT Sport

England home internationals - ITV

World Cup - BBC/ITV

European Championships - BBC/ITV

Women’s World Cup - BBC

Capital One Cup - Sky

Scottish Premier League - Sky/BT Sport

Scottish Cup - Sky/BBC Scotland


England home Test matches - Sky

England home one-day and Twenty20 games - Sky

Cricket World Cup - Sky

Australia home Test matches - BT Sport, from 2016 (including 2017-18 Ashes)


Wimbledon - BBC

US Open - Sky/British Eurosport

French Open - ITV/British Eurosport

Australian Open - BBC/British Eurosport

Rugby union

Rugby World Cup - ITV

Six Nations - BBC/ITV


The Open - BBC until 2016, then Sky

US Masters - BBC/Sky

US Open - Sky

US PGA Championship - Sky

Ryder Cup - Sky

Commonwealth Games - BBC


World Athletics Championships - BBC

UK Athletics major events - BBC

Rugby league

Super League - Sky

Challenge Cup final - BBC

Horse racing

Grand National - Channel 4

Cheltenham Festival - Channel 4

Epsom Derby - Channel 4

Royal Ascot - Channel 4

Glorious Goodwood - Channel 4

Motor racing

Formula 1 - BBC/Sky


Tour de France - ITV/British Eurosport

UCI Road World Championships - BBC/British Eurosport

World Track Championships - BBC

UCI Track World Cup - BBC (UK event only)

Paralympics - Channel 4


The Boat Race - BBC

Snooker World Championship - BBC

Darts World Championships


PDC - Sky