Ballance loses out on England central contract

Yorkshire's Gary Ballance.
Yorkshire's Gary Ballance.
Have your say

Seam bowler Mark Wood has earned his first central contract with England.

The 25-year-old Durham paceman only made his Test debut against New Zealand in May but went on to take 10 wickets in four Ashes matches as England claimed the urn with a 3-2 victory over Australia.

Limited-overs captain Eoin Morgan is the other newcomer in the 11 to have been awarded a central contract after guiding England to a one-day series success over the Kiwis before smashing three half-centuries in the 3-2 series loss to the World Cup-winning Australians.

Yorkshire’s Gary Ballance, Chris Woakes and fellow all-rounder Chris Jordan have all lost their central contracts but have been retained on incremental contracts for the 2015-16 season.

Ballance began the Ashes batting at three but paid the price for the resounding defeat at Lord’s while Woakes suffered a knee injury that ruled him out of a large portion of the season at the start of the summer.

Yorkshire duo Jonny Bairstow and Adil Rashid, and Nottinghamshire’s James Taylor, all have incremental contracts, having starred with the white ball over the past few months.

Samit Patel has earned a recall to the England Test squad three years on from his last cap after Zafar Ansari was ruled out with a dislocated left thumb.

Notts all-rounder Patel has played in five games in the five-day arena for England but the 30-year-old’s last Test recognition came in India in 2012.

He will travel with the England squad for the forthcoming series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates due to the injury Ansari picked up playing for Surrey just hours after he had earned his first Test call up.

England’s centrally-contracted players: Moeen Ali (Worcs), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ian Bell (Warwicks), Stuart Broad (Notts), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Eoin Morgan (Middlesex), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Ben Stokes (Durham), Mark Wood (Durham).

Incremental contracts: Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Gary Ballance (Yorkshire), Alex Hales (Nottis), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwicks), James Taylor (Notts).