Brunt and Hazell named in World Twenty20 squad

KATHERINE BRUNT and Danielle Hazell of Yorkshire have been named in England's squad for the ICC World Twenty20 in the West Indies.

England's world-beating women Twenty20 cricketers will also have Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin back in their squad as they bid to defend their crown.

Taylor and Colvin were both unavailable for this winter's one-day international and Twenty20 tour of India. But a clutch of youngsters who impressed in their absence have been retained in a 14-strong squad announced today.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Clare Connor, head of England Women's Cricket, said: "We believe we have selected a squad of players with the necessary skills to retain the ICC World Twenty20.

"While this will be no easy feat, given the strength of our group, the Twenty20 series win in India in February has prepared the squad well for the challenge.

"In order to make way for the return of Claire Taylor and Holly Colvin, who missed the India tour due to other commitments, the selectors have had to make some tough decisions.

"Young Academy graduates Heather Knight, Danielle Wyatt and Danielle Hazell all seized their opportunities in India and, as such, have retained their places in the squad.

"A couple of senior players have missed out on selection, but the door remains open to them with a huge summer ahead against New Zealand in July.

"It is exactly this sort of competition for places that we are always striving for. We wish Charlotte Edwards and her squad every success in their bid to retain their ICC World Twenty20 champion status."

England are in Group A alongside Australia, West Indies and South Africa. Their first group match against Australia in St Kitts is on May 5.

England: CM Edwards (Kent, Captain), KH Brunt (Yorkshire), HL Colvin (Sussex), LS Greenway (Kent), JL Gunn (Nottinghamshire), D Hazell (Yorkshire), HC Knight (Berkshire), LA Marsh (Sussex), BL Morgan (Middlesex), NJ Shaw (Surrey), A Shrubsole (Somerset), SC Taylor (Berkshire), SJ Taylor (Sussex), DN Wyatt (Staffordshire).