Defiant Wilson fails to halt Treeton march

Treeton look set to be crowned champions for an eighth time with just two matches to play.

They claimed a hat-trick of titles from 1991 and their last success was in 2012.

On Saturday, they were the only team to top 300 as Steve Foster made 97, Greg Norton 78 not out and Danny Kemp 49.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Whiston were 13-6 but made 160 thanks to Pete Wilson’s rearguard knock of 95, which included 15 boundaries.

Iftikhar Afzal took 5-29 and Shahzad Rana 4-48 as Tickhill reached 175 through James Stuart (63) and Steve Reid (46) but Elsecar won by five wickets, opener Ainsley Swallow setting them on the right track with 66.

Darfield set a target of 180-9 at Hallam, Ali Khan making 41 and Liam Marshall 40. The Sheffield hosts were back in the pavilion for 136, Ali Khan rounding off his day with a haul of 6-38.

Wickersley had eight wickets in hand after passing Wath’s 154, in which Derek Mitchell hit 50 and Muhammad Naveed claimed 4-50, with Haider Jahangir and Shahid Hussain taking three wickets each. Wickersley won on 158-2, Shahjaan Younis (61no) and Richard Harrison (51no) sharing an unbroken stand of 110.

Whitley Hall were eight-wicket winners after visitors Coal Aston had made 213-8, Laurence Browes striking 90 and Dave Rodgers 42.

Jim Tasker spun his way to 6-55 and, in Whitley’s 214-2, Neil Longhurst struck an unbeaten 95, with 16 fours.

Rotherham Phoenix’s John Ashton included 19 boundaries in his 130. They made 195 at Aston Hall in Division Two but the hosts’ Tim Shaw cracked 103 in the successful 196-3 reply.

Doncaster’s Matt Head made 112 not out, including 18 boundaries in their 250-6, but Wickersley opener Matt Asher blasted 101 as they replied with 251-4.