Drakes Huddersfield: Nawaz gets champions off to a winning start

Have your say

GHARIB Nawaz and Alex Morris shared a 184-run stand as champions Hoylandswaine made a successful start in their bid to win the Premiership’s Byrom Shield for the third time in four seasons.

Nawaz smashed a century off 105 balls and Morris hit 62 in Hoylandswaine’s eight-wicket victory against promoted Broad Oak. John Greaves (97) and Harvey Booth (43) led Oak’s scoring.

Barkisland and Shelley were involved in an opening day tie.

Chasing Shelley’s 220 that featured 62 by Abdul Wahid, Barkisland were heading for defeat at 168-9 before Matthew Steers (34) and Chris Williams (15no) rescued them by putting on 52 for the last wicket.

The scores finished level when Steers was run out with two balls remaining as he attempted a winning second run.

Shepley, last season’s runners-up and 2013 champions, lost at Honley when they fell for 133, replying to 138-9.

Captain Eddie Wilson (45) and all-rounder Tim Taylor (36 and 4-37) gave Honley the edge.

New signings David Hales and Matt Bremner were Slaithwaite’s match-winners in a two-wicket success against Golcar.

Hales (6-44) limited Golcar to 175 and Australian Bremner finished unbeaten on 97 as Slaithwaite knocked off the runs.

Joe Carter struck 58 off 63 balls and Josh Brook, Tom Boorman and Adam France each claimed three wickets in Scholes’s 23-run victory over Delph & Dobcross whose defeat was hard on all-rounder Arron Lilley (51 and 3-39).

Nick Sharp (57no) and Andrew Smith (49) steered Kirkburton to a two-wicket win against Moorlands.

Lascelles Hall’s Michael Richardson (125) hammered the day’s top individual score at Linthwaite.