Elsecar pass opening test against Darfield

Have your say

Premier Division champions Elsecar began their hunt for their 19th top-flight championship with victory at Darfield, but did not have things all their own way, winning with just two wickets to spare after seeing off the hosts for 133, Shahzad Rana claiming 7-41.

Elsecar opener Jason Meadows struck 63, including nine fours, then had to battle to 135-8.

Free-scoring Whitley Hall were shocked at the Aston Hall ground, reaching 224-8, Jaco Castle top bat with 42, but an unbeaten 99 from opener Matt Cartwright steered Aston to victory at 225-3, Amir Riaz unbeaten on 53.

Treeton were runaway winners at Coal Aston, Gareth Davis plundering an unbeaten 129, with 17 fours, Steve Foster making 44, Scott Cunningham following with a fine half-ton. Treeton saw off the hosts for just 87 (Greg Norton 5-36, Muhammad Attari 3-29).

Wath had Tickhill back in their own pavilion for 170, Mark Barlow grabbing 5-53, and went on to win by five wickets.

Hallam were high scorers in the top section, reaching 294-5 thanks to solid batting from Joe Cooper (88), Harry Bliss (64) and Nick Dymock (59). Chris Jevons took 3-81 for hosts Whiston, who fell for 142 despite a fine 80 from opener Andy Tomlinson. Vaidik Raj took 7-54.

Norton Oakes amassed 223-8, Alex Hughes belting 67 and Alex Hibbert 59, but Wickersley replied with 227-5, Matt Burton hammering a century, and Richard Harrison an unbeaten 43.

The league began with two new clubs, Penistone and Sprotborough, and will welcome Wombwell and Woolley next year.

The league started with 38 clubs making up five divisions of 12 teams each, and a sixth division of nine teams. Last season, the league provided all four teams in the 2013 Yorkshire Council Championship finals,.