Beckwithshaw clinch Aire-Wharfe title | Scholes clinch promotion | Champions Adel crash

Champions: 'Beckwithshaw celebrate winning the league after beating North Leeds.''Picture: Steve Riding
Champions: 'Beckwithshaw celebrate winning the league after beating North Leeds.''Picture: Steve Riding
Have your say

Sam Moore hit three fours and four sixes in a rapid 46 and, with Mike Buller scoring 42, Beckwithshaw reached 227-9 on their way to clinching the Aire-Wharfe championship for the fifth time.

Eugene Burzler and Oliver Hotchkiss wrapped things up with three wickets each as North Leeds were bowled out for 107.

Beckwithshaw’s closest rivals, Otley, made sure they were ready to claim the title if they slipped up, polishing off Guiseley in short order.

Chris Thompson picked up 4-21 as the visitors were skittled for 68 and Stephen Brown (30no) and Ben Morley (28no) clinched the win in 12.4 overs

Bilton’s South African overseas player Kiel van Vollenhoven signed off with a half-century and 3-52 but still could not prevent his side going down by four wickets at Horsforth with Chris Gordon (31no) and Tom Colley (35no) seeing them home.

Tom Nixon followed up a 3-17 spell with 58 but he ended on the losing side as relegated Colton lost by 36 runs to Burley, for whom Shane Hetherington (47) and Redmond Bolton (43) were top scorers.

Collingham’s Toby Jacklin suffered the same fate, picking up five wickets as Rawdon were limited to 117 but his side crashed out for 99,

Nick Cockcroft starred in Ilkey’s nine-run win at Pool. He top scored with 26 in Ilkley’s 107, then ran out Cameron Duncan when he and Charlie Bell had put on 48 for their first wicket, before picking up 6-24 to grab the win.

Division Two champions Adel suffered just their fourth defeat of the season, bowled out for 73 in reply to Tong Park Esholt’s 128 with Mahir Ali taking 7-41.

Dwayne Heke took 5-36 as Leeds Modernians bowled out Calverley for 181, securing enough bonus points to ensure they stay in the second flight at the expense of Skipton.

The position was made even more comfortable by their victory while Skipton lost against Hall Park.

Chris Meehan (27no) and Harry Smallwood (54no) clinched Olicanian’s win over Bolton Villas which means they go up as champions from Division Three with Saltaire.

Shoukat Ali hit an unbeaten 78 to take Scholes past Wrenthorpe’s 156-9 total and to clinch promotion as Bradford Championship One champions and ended their opponents’ hopes of going up.

Wrenthorpe made a poor start crashing to 68-6 and, despite a late rally by Matthew Holstein (25) and Jonathan Rudge (36no), their total was always too low to defend, even with Rudge taking 5-49 in the reply.

Methley made sure of the second promotion spot, crushing Baildon by nine wickets.

Twin brother Marcus (3-19) and Eddie Walmsley (7-22) skittled the home side for 54 and Marcus (22no) and Jordan Laban (22no) eased them into the top flight.