Saturday league cricket review: Milestones for Isanka and Morgan

Match winner: Alex Lilley, left, after taking his fifth wicket and Bilton's final wicket to win the game fore league leaders Beckwithshaw.''Picture: Steve Riding
Match winner: Alex Lilley, left, after taking his fifth wicket and Bilton's final wicket to win the game fore league leaders Beckwithshaw.''Picture: Steve Riding
Have your say

Wakefield Thornes took a giant step towards retaining the Yorkshire South title with a crushing defeat of nearest rivals Sheffield Collegiate.

Matthew Jordan (88) and Joe Cook (34) set them on course with a fourth-wicket stand of 97 and Faisal Irfan (32no) and Tom Froggett (40no) saw the home side set a 236-7 target.

Collegiate stumbled to 22-4 and Mahmood Rasool (4-35), Akila Isanka (3-48) and Steve Morgan (3-32) dismissed them for 142. Along the way, Isanka became the first bowler to pass 100 wickets in YSPL and Morgan passed 50 for the season.

Harpreet Singh Bhatia raced to 113 off 88 balls as Barnsley reached 262-6, but a century stand between Shahjahan Younis (64) and Tom Knight (57) kept Wickersley on track and Stuart Guy (27no) clinched victory with two balls to spare.

Aqab Ahmed (5-27) and Matthew Cartwright (44no) starred as Aston Hall made short work of beating relegated Sheffield & Phoenix, and two wickets in consecutive balls by Kieran Lindley ended Hallam’s chase, 10 runs short of passing Appleby Frodingham’s 156.

Archie Ogden (84), Muhammad Waheed (76no) and Sam Drury (51no) led the way in Treeton’s 249-3 before Greg Norton (4-43) and Vinnie Ogden (3-27) bowled out Tickhill for 112.

Harry Warwick’s unbeaten 64 took Cleethorpes to a seven-wicket win over Whitley Hall.

Yorkshire North looks set to go to the wire after leaders Stamford Bridge’s match at Driffield was abandoned with the home side on 224-8, with Sam Drury hitting a century.

The weather did not have time to stop new leaders Yorkshire Academy, Bilal Anjam (51no) taking them past Clifton Alliance’s 84 in 17.1 overs.

York stayed in the hunt after Tom Pringle (5-21) helped restrict Scarborough to 155 and Duncan Snell led the chase with 87.

Harrogate have not given up hope after beating Hull, who were on target for a big score when David Barrick (78) and Tom Appleyard (67) were together, but then lost five cheap wickets and had to settle for 267.

Harrogate captain George Ross (82no) shared century stands with Nick Taylor (61) and Jonathan Tattersall (66) before finishing the job with Kellen Bond (47no).

Mark Fisher (5-38) and Ben Harrison (3-35) toppled relegation-threatened Easingwold for 151 to set up a win for Sheriff Hutton Bridge.

Andrew Bilton (56) and Steve Burdett (42) top scored in Woodhouse Grange’s 197-8 on the way to a 38-run win at Acomb.

Pudsey St Lawrence’s outside hopes of retaining the Bradford Premiership title all but disappeared when they came up eight runs short of the 161 total of bottom club Pudsey Congs. Ifran Amjad hit a half-century for Congs and Josh Wheatley did the damage with the ball, taking 6-42.

Muhammed Rameez (6-14) starred as leaders Hanging Heaton blitzed Batley by eight wickets. A 5-22 spell from James Wainman and 69 from Arthur Price helped keep Farsley in the title race with a comfortable victory over Bradford & Bingley.

John Wood (63) and son Joe (42) starred as Cleckheaton boosted their survival chance of with a win over East Bierley.

Conor Harvey included six sixes in his 129 as Townville reached 205 in the win against New Farnley.

There was also a century from Sam Frankland as Woodlands beat Lightcliffe by 67 runs.

Aire Wharfe leaders Beckwithshaw were dismissed for 116, but Alex Lilley (5-19) and Taylor Williams (3-19) ensured Bilton only reached 80.

With Ed Brown (101), Nick Brook (54) and Jason Wright (51) taking them to 276-5, Burley gambled on declaring, but paid the price when Jibrael Malik (50no) clinched Ilkley’s victory in the first of their extra overs.

This allowed Otley to move up to second, after James Davies (6-26) and Chris Thompson (4-39) skittled Pool for 65.

Hoylandswaine’s march on the Huddersfield title suffered a setback, three wickets each for Adam France, Ben Hyde and John Keeling grabbing a seven-run win for Broad Oak.

Delph & Dobcross beat Thongsbridge in a 20-over match with three balls to spare.

A nerveless final over from Scholes’ Devon Smith meant Kirburton fell one run short of the six runs they needed for victory and they had to settle for a tie.