St Chad's celebrate first championship


St Chad's have won the Division One championship for the first time.

They made certain of top spot when Howard Johnson (67no), Mark Bailey (45), Khawar Yasin (4-39) and Dan Izzard (4-24) led them to a five-wicket victory against Shadwell.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Last year's champions Old Modernians are set to finish runners up.

Jarran Cook, Shaun Delaney and Matt Walker each claimed three wickets as Great Preston were bowled out for 152, replying to the Modernians total of 241-6 that featured 88 by Steve Clapham and 66 from Mark Ripley.

Barwick in Elmet achieved their sixth straight win thanks to Gary Bettison who hit an unbeaten 59 as they recovered from 80-6 to overhaul Leeds Police's 150.

Carl Shaw (6-21) was Scarcroft's match-winner as they beat Walton by five runs.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Patrick Gannon (63), Jonathan Ross (50) and Mark Abram (42) guided Spofforth to 227-4 against Wetherby who were routed for 112 in reply by Simon Taylor (8-24). Warren Else (61) led Wetherby's scoring.

Kirk Deighton were the easiest winners as they inflicted relegated East Keswick's 21st successive league defeat. Nick Ryder (5-13) and Richard Ward (4-25) skittled Keswick for 39 after Gary Miles (127) and Stuart Ruddick (85) had steered Deighton to 300-4.

All-rounder Makbul Mulla (71 and 3-24) led Division Two title-chasers Church Fenton to a five-wicket win at Crossgates.

Fenton are one point ahead of the other promoted side Garforth Parish Church whose six-wicket victory at Leeds Police featured an unbeaten 61 by James Allinson.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jamie Crooks (111) and Andy Wood (93) shared a club-record first-wicket stand of 216 as Sicklinghall piled up 313-6 against Old Leodiensians who managed only 129 in reply.

Barry Welsh (67no) and David Gilks (53) put on 107 and Kevin Gilks snapped up 4-26 as Bramhope beat Kippax.

Steve Harrison's 99 was the highlight of Saxton's win over Thorner Mexborough.

Related topics: