Whitwam wins race to batting milestone

GOLCAR captain Steve Whitwam became the league’s first batsman to reach 1,000 runs for the season on a day when almost all matches were cut short by heavy rain.

Whitwam passed the landmark in style with an undefeated 153 against visitors Barkisland. He took his season’s total to 1,141 and had an opening partnership of 177 with James Howson who made 80.

Half-century maker Cameron Fletcher figured in an unbroken second-wicket stand of 123 with his skipper, Golcar declaring their innings at 300-1 in the 49th over. However, Barkisland were denied a reply by the rain.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Shepley batsman Dan Wood is just seven runs short of the 1,000 mark after an undefeated 109 at Delph & Dobcross. Wood’s innings contained 15 boundaries and Liam Wiles had 12 fours and two sixes in an unbeaten 76 as the league leaders posted 231-2 in 40 overs before rain curtailed play.

Kirkburton’s Gurman Randhawa spun his way to 7-30 from 13 overs at Holmfirth who were dismissed for 160 despite a defiant 69 from No 3 batsman Sarjinder Pal Singh. Kirkburton were on 33 without loss in 9.2 overs when the weather caused a frustrating finish.

Honley’s Max Joice and Harvey Booth added 84 for the fourth wicket against Skelmanthorpe. Joice made an unbeaten 82 off 98 balls and Martin Green also defied the bowlers for 39 off 29 balls. Honley totalled 242-5 from their 50 overs but it was a familiar tale was rain ended play with Skelmanthorpe on 18 without loss after eight overs.

Scholes’ Tom Chadwick fell 12 short of his century at Shelley, Joe Carter collecting a half-century and Toby Booth (40) and Tom Brook (38 not out) also making useful scores. Rain denied Shelley the opportunity to chase down the visitors’ 275-4.

Chris Kilner struck an undefeated half-century in Marsden’s 160-9 against Hoylandswaine for whom Ben Potter took three wickets for eight runs.

Pace-man Chris Lloyd took 6-22 as Emley Clarence were dismissed for 45 in 23 overs, already-promoted Moorlands winning by 114 runs.