Yorkshire CCC’s Andy Fogarty recognised for his Headingley labours with ECB accolade

Yorkshire's head groundsman Andy Fogarty (Picture: Simon Wilkinson/SWpix.com).
Yorkshire's head groundsman Andy Fogarty (Picture: Simon Wilkinson/SWpix.com).
Have your say

YORKSHIRE’S Andy Fogarty has been named ECB groundsman of the year.

It is the second time Fogarty has scooped the award, which he also won in 2011.

Fogarty claimed top-prize in the four-day category and was also commended in the one-day section.

Somerset’s Simon Lee won the one-day category and was runner-up in the four-day field.

There was further recognition for Yorkshire in the outgrounds category, with Scarborough’s John Dodds runner-up to Guildford’s Bill Clutterbuck.

Four-day – Winner: Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire). Runner-up: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Commended: Neil Godrich (The 3aaa County Ground, Derbyshire), Simon Williamson (The Spitfire Ground St Lawrence, Kent).

One-day – Winner: Simon Lee (Taunton, Somerset). Runner-up: Nigel Gray (Ageas Bowl, Hampshire). Commended: Steve Birks (Trent Bridge, Nottinghamshire), Andy Mackay (The BrightonandHoveJobs.com County Ground, Sussex), Andy Fogarty (Headingley, Yorkshire).

Outgrounds – Winner: Bill Clutterbuck (Guildford, Surrey). Runner-up: John Dodds (Scarborough, Yorkshire). Commended: Stuart Kerrison (Colchester, Essex), David Summersell (Uxbridge, Middlesex).

MCC Universities – Winner: Paul Derrick (Durham Racecourse, Durham MCCU). Runner-up: John Moden (Fenners, Cambridge MCCU).