Yorkshire duo prepare to face team-mate Starc

Have your say

YORKSHIRE were yesterday boosted by England’s decision to allow Tim Bresnan to play in Twenty20 Finals Day, but hit by the news that Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root have been called up by England Lions.

Bresnan will play at Finals Day in Cardiff on August 25 when his presence will, to some extent, offset the loss of Australian pace bowler Mitchell Starc, the leading wicket-taker in Twenty20 this season who is unavailable due to his country’s A tour of England.

However, Yorkshire will be without Bairstow and Root for the key County Championship game against leaders Derbyshire at Headingley Carnegie (August 15-18).

The pair will line-up against Starc’s men for England Lions in two four-day fixtures against Australia A, firstly at Old Trafford on August 7-10 and then at Edgbaston (August 14-17).

Yorkshire are also scheduled to play three CB40 games during that period – against Warwickshire at Edgbaston (August 7), Northamptonshire at Wantage Road (August 9) and against Unicorns at Headingley Carnegie 
(August 12).

Bairstow is one of four players in the 13-man Lions’ squad with Test experience along with captain Eoin Morgan, Nottinghamshire all-rounder Samit Patel and Kent off-spinner James Tredwell.

All squad members have previously been capped by England Lions.

England national selector Geoff Miller commented: “The Lions team and England Performance Programme plays an important role in the development of future England players and these (four--day) fixtures will present an opportunity for our players to show us that they are capable of representing England at Test level in the future.

“We expect Australia A to provide tough opposition and look forward to seeing how some of our most talented players outside the Test squad perform in these two matches.”

England Lions squad: Eoin Morgan (captain) (Middlesex), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Matt Coles (Kent), Nick Compton (Somerset), James Harris (Glamorgan), Simon Kerrigan (Lancashire), Craig Kieswetter (wicketkeeper, Somerset), Stuart Meaker (Surrey), Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), James Tredwell (Kent), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire).