2018-19 Fixtures: Bradford City - Tough opener for new boss

MICHAEL COLLINS will make his competitive head coaching bow at beaten League One play-off finalists Shrewsbury Town - Bradford City's opening-day opponents of the first day of the EFL season on August 4.

Bradford City's new head coach Michael Collins & Edin Rahic.

The new Bantams head coach, who will be assisted by Martin Drury and Greg Abbott, will stride out at Valley Parade for the first time in a League One fixture on August 11, when City have been handed an intruiguing home opener - a Yorkshire derby with Barnsley.

September sees Bradford head to the coast with a seaside trip to Blackpool on September 8 - where City will be keen to vanquish memories of last season’s horror 5-0 drubbing.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

On September 22, City face a derby trip to Doncaster Rovers.

A glamour home date with relegated Sunderland is the stand-out fixture in October, with the Wearsiders visiting Valley Parade on October 6.

Bradford welcome Scunthorpe United - one of Collins’s former clubs - on December 22 with City then handed an attractive Boxing Day trip to the Stadium of Light for the return fixture with Sunderland before ending 2018 with a Roses game at Rochdale on December 29.

The new year opens with a January 1 home game with Accrington Stanley, with City visiting Oakwell to face Barnsley on January 12.

City welcome Doncaster on April 6 and Easter sees them visit Coventry on Good Friday (April 19) and host Gillingham on Easter Monday (April 22).

Bradford’s final away assignment of the season is at Scunthorpe on April 27 with City then entertaining AFC Wimbledon on the last day of the campaign on May 4.


4 Shrewsbury Town A

11 Barnsley H

18 Southend United A

21 Burton Albion H

25 Wycombe Wanderers H


1 Fleetwood Town A

8 Blackpool A

15 Charlton Athletic H

22 Doncaster Rovers A

29 Bristol Rovers H


2 A.F.C. Wimbledon A

6 Sunderland H

13 Accrington Stanley A

20 Rochdale H

23 Coventry City H

27 Gillingham A


3 Portsmouth H

17 Peterborough United A

24 Oxford United H

27 Luton Town A


8 Plymouth Argyle A

15 Walsall H

22 Scunthorpe United H

26 Sunderland A

29 Rochdale A


1 Accrington Stanley H

5 Shrewsbury Town H

12 Barnsley A

19 Southend United H

26 Burton Albion A


2 Wycombe Wanderers A

9 Fleetwood Town H

16 Plymouth Argyle H

23 Walsall A


2 Portsmouth A

9 Peterborough United H

12 Luton Town H

16 Oxford United A Emirates FA Cup 6

23 Blackpool H Euro 2020 Qualifiers

30 Charlton Athletic A


6 Doncaster Rovers H

13 Bristol Rovers A

19 Coventry City A

22 Gillingham H

27 Scunthorpe United A


4 A.F.C. Wimbledon H