FT: Huddersfield Town 1-1 Charlton Athletic - Town to appeal Wallace dismissal

TEN-MAN Huddersfield were denied what would have been a deserved victory against unbeaten Charlton when Igor Vetokele slid in a stoppage-time equaliser at the John Smith’s Stadium.

Town's caretaker manager Mark Lillis.

Town had seen Murray Wallace dismissed in the first minute of first-half stoppage time but Joel Lynch looked to be covering as his fellow central defender was deemed the last man as he pulled back Vetokele and received a straight red.

Captain Lee Peltier dropped backed into central defence and Jacob Butterfield into central midfield for the second half but it took the 10 men only five minutes to go ahead. A delightful back heel from Sean Scannell set up the overlapping Tommy Smith and Nahki Wells swept home the full-back’s low cross from close range.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Peltier, just back from groin trouble, had to be replaced and Conor Coady dropped back into central defence and was part of a tremendous rearguard effort allied to the threat of the returning James Vaughan up front.

But when a long ball was headed on, Vetokele struck to make the final score 1-1.

Wells and Harry Bunn had both tested former York loanee goalkeeper Nick Pope in a goalless first half when Charlton’s biggest threat was the ball down the middle.

Huddersfield caretaker boss Mark Lillis is set to appeal against the dismissal of centre-back Murray Wallace during the 1-1 draw against Charlton.

Wallace was given a straight red card by referee Tim Robinson on the stroke of half-time for bringing down Igor Vetokele, who was through on goal in the Sky Bet Championship clash.

Lillis said: “I think it was a bit harsh. Joel Lynch was there so he is not the last man and I think we will appeal.

“I was disappointed with that decision and a few other decisions the referee made for both sides.”

Town were denied a penalty a minute from time when sub James Vaughan went down under challenge from Tal Ben Haim. Robinson waved away the appeals - and Lillis believed the official got that wrong too.

“Anywhere else on the pitch and it’s a free-kick,” he said. “Vaughan was barged.

“The referee will be assessed and he will know if he has made the right decisions. We’ve got a point and we move on.”