Hull City 3 Ipswich 0: Bruce sets Tigers on their way to easy triumph

editorial image
Have your say

Alex Bruce, Chuba Akpom and David Meyler scored the goals which saw Hull beat Ipswich at the KC Stadium and move back into the Championship play-off places.

Bruce scored a towering header after coming on as a first-half substitute and Akpom added the second close to half-time as Steve Bruce’s side made their dominance pay against the visitors.

Meyler scored the third early in the second half with a controlled volley as Ipswich were clinically brushed aside.

Hull dominated the game’s early proceedings and top scorer Abel Hernandez should have done better when he headed down and straight at Dean Gerken from Ahmed Elmohamady’s cross.

Luke Chambers then saw his shot deflected wide after good build-up play by Daryl Murphy as Ipswich threatened for the first time.

Giles Coke was narrowly wide of a post with a free-kick awarded when substitute defender Bruce, on for the injured Curtis Davies, fouled Kevin Bru 30 yards out.

Elmohamady did well to get to a through ball from Moses Odubajo down the right, but when he centred Sam Clucas steered his right-footed shot past the far post from 12 yards out.

However, as Ipswich failed to clear a corner the home side took the lead after 36 minutes.

Andy Robertson’s ball down the left channel was chased down by Clucas and his cross to the far post was met by a towering header from Bruce.

Murphy fired a volley on the turn from distance straight at Allan McGregor, whose first save of the game was a comfortable one.

Akpom finally got the second goal Hull’s dominance deserved when he met Odubajo’s low cross with a clinical side-foot finish to close out the first half.

Elmohamady saw his shot blocked for a corner by Christophe Berra as Hull pushed for another goal early in the second half.

Hull got a deserved third goal after 58 minutes when Meyler volleyed into the far corner after controlling the ball on his chest following a deflected cross from Clucas.

Hull City: McGregor, Odubajo, Dawson (Maguire 80), Davies (Bruce 18), Robertson, Elmohamady, Livermore, Meyler, Clucas, Akpom, Hernandez (Aluko 68). Unused substitutes: Huddlestone, Maloney, Jakupovic, Diame.

Ipswich Town: Gerken, Chambers, Smith, Berra, Knudsen, Parr (Sears 46), Coke (Maitland-Niles 46), Douglas, Bru, Murphy, Toure (Pitman 72). Unused substitutes: Malarczyk, McDonnell, Emmanuel, Bialkowski.

Referee: Chris Kavanagh (Lancashire).