Huddersfield reign for fifth year in a row with YLCGA win at Moortown

Huddersfield pose with the trophy after their victory in the YLCGA Scratch Team championship at Moortown.
Huddersfield pose with the trophy after their victory in the YLCGA Scratch Team championship at Moortown.
Have your say

HUDDERSFIELD triumphed at Moortown to win the Yorkshire Ladies County Golf Association’s Scratch Team championship for the fifth year in succession.

They reached the final thanks to Harriet Richardson eagling the last hole of her match with Sue Blaeford, of leading qualifiers Ganton, to draw level before birdieing the first extra hole.

Hallamshire had seen off Rotherham in their semi-final, but found Huddersfield too strong in the decider during which Hannah Holden holed a bunker shot to beat Holly Morgan, who is turning professional to take up a role at the Sheffield club.

Pat Wrightson defeated Megan Illingworth two up to double Huddersfield’s lead, but Heather Staniforth got the better of Jess Hosking.

The match was neatly poised at that point before Huddersfield put their foot to the floor to claim a fifth title in a row.

Ganton had dropped just 2.5 games in their league matches all season, but Huddersfield’s No 1 player Holden gave them an early lead in their semi-final with a 4&2 victory.

The next game went the way of Ganton and in the third Naomi Edwards was one up on Hosking going down the 18th.

Edwards’s tee shot was a little wayward and her second found a greenside bunker while Hosking’s tee shot had been unlucky to roll into a fairway bunker, but a great approach put her on the green.

It led to a birdie and the match went into sudden-death down the first where Edwards drew on her experience to win to put her side 2-1 ahead.

Back came Huddersfield, who won the fourth game, and with two other games halved the outcome rested on the Blaeford-Richardson game, which was won spectacularly by the latter.

The second semi-final between Rotherham and Hallamshire 1 was not as close, but produced some fine golf.

The first match between Morgan, of Hallamshire, and Rotherham’s Sarah Bailey was quite tight to the turn, but Morgan turned the screw on the back nine to win 5 & 4. Hallamshire soon followed up with four further wins to take them into the final.

The Scratch Division 2 finals saw Hallamshire 2, who had won the league’s leading qualifier trophy, play second-placed Ilkley for the Sue Johnson Championship Trophy.

Ilkley nosed themselves in front and through some very strong play gradually increased their advantage and took the title.

Hallamshire 2 and Ilkley will be joined by Hornsea in Scratch Division One for next season.