Yorkshire golf: Champions looking to send out early message

Yorkshire captain Darryl Berry (Picture: Chris Stratford).
Yorkshire captain Darryl Berry (Picture: Chris Stratford).
Have your say

YORKSHIRE will field an extremely strong side against Cumbria today in their first Northern Counties League match of the season with captain Darryl Berry hopeful that they can make a firm statement of intent that they intend to retain their crown.

The task facing the hosts at Seascale GC is emphasised by a glance at the order of play for both the morning singles and afternoon foursomes.

First out for Yorkshire will be county champion and England elite squad member James Bower (Meltham GC) alongside England A international Will Whiteoak (Shipley GC).

Teeing of directly behind them will be the partnership of former England squad member Dan Brown (Bedale GC) and new England international James Walker (The Oaks GC).

The singles will then be led out by Bower, Walker, Whiteoak and Brown as Berry looks to bank early points from both sessions.

“It’s a strong, strong team,” said Berry, whose hand would have been mightier still but for the past two English men’s champions – Nick Marsh (Huddersfield GC) and Joe Dean (formerly Lindrick GC) – both turning professional.

“Whoever we’re playing, all of my players are good enough to beat the other side’s players on the day. It’s just a case of hoping my lads turn up in good form.”

Fulford GC’s James Cass makes his league debut for the White Rose, with his impressive showing in last year’s Northern Counties boys’ qualifying championship at Seascale, when he shot 77 71, having played a part in his selection.

“He knows the course and has played it well and it’s worth putting him in for that knowledge he brings, as well as the fact that he’s a very steady player,” said Berry.

Yorkshire’s foursome pairings: Jamie Bower (Meltham GC) and Will Whiteoak (Shipley GC), Dan Brown (Bedale GC) and James Walker (The Oaks GC), James Cass (Fulford GC) and Kealan Lowe (Wheatley GC), Martin Brown (Pike Hills GC) and Luke Robinson (Hornsea GC), Ben Brewster (Wheatley GC) and Ben Hutchinson (Howley Hall GC), Jamie Harrison (Rotherham GC) and Jack Lampkin (Ilkley GC).