Yorkshire golf: City Taxis motor to victory in Lindrick's Corporate Classic

Sheffield-based City Taxis won Lindrick's Corporate Classic.
Sheffield-based City Taxis won Lindrick's Corporate Classic.
Have your say

LINDRICK'S third annual Corporate Classic saw a new name etched on the trophy as Sheffield-based City Taxis, led by 'Arnie' Singh, won a fiercely-contested team event.

Their 82pt haul was just one better than the tournament sponsor, insurance brokers AJ Gallagher, who were captained by their managing director Jon Simpkin.

Ghyll's Steve Mortimer receives the Elvin Town Memorial Trophy.

Ghyll's Steve Mortimer receives the Elvin Town Memorial Trophy.

Yorkshire's presence on the leader board was enhanced by Leeds-based logistics specialists Walkers Transports who, with managing director Nigel Jenkinson in their team, took third place.

The event, which featured 20 corporate teams from all over the country, saw Ray Smart, of Minder Security, win nearest the pin at the 18th for which he gains the use of a Porsche for a weekend, supplied by Porsche Sheffield.

Smart, whose son Jonathan caddies for Masters champion and Lindrick member Danny Willett, said: "Jon told me at the weekend that I should hit five-iron on that hole so I trusted the advice and stuck it next to the pin.

"It's a lovely prize for a summer weekend, I really enjoyed the day and I might even let Jon have a ride."

Ghyll's Trevor Towers carded two birdies and six pars to shoot an impressive 81-18- 63 to lift the Stephen Kynaston Memorial Trophy.

His handicap has fallen by two shots as the result of his emphatic triumph.

Ghyll's scratch team captain Steve Greenwood (71-4- 67) topped Division One, while Andy Gibb (82-11- 71) was the pick of Division Two, on count back from Neil Clapham (83-12- 71) and Adam Rowley (85-14-71).

Sam Bugler (84-17- 67) won the Division Three prize.

Kevin Honeyman and Lesley Nash were drawn together in the Mixed Foursomes Championship at Ghyll and ran out winners with a total of 36 Stableford points, two better than Sean Nutter and Patricia Wilkinson, who took second spot, while Andrew Harling and Stephanie Robinson (33) completed the leader board.

In the Elvin Town Memorial Trophy competition, an event that uses all of Ghyll’s 11 holes at least once in an 18-hole round, Steve Mortimer, a relative newcomer to the senior ranks, won with a one-under gross score for the back nine, returning 73-9- 64 to emerge as the runaway winner.

Jack Farnhill (79-11- 68) took second place on count back from Ray Duckworth (82-14- 68).

Hainsworth Park vice captain Steve Wilson made local knowledge pay as he won Division A of East Riding's Millennium Trophy final around his home track.

The nine-handicapper carded 41pts. edging Neil Bruce (Scarborough South Cliff) into second place on 40, with Hessle's Gary Robinson third a point further back. Hornsea's promising junior Nathan Wright took fourth with 36.

Division B was won by Rich Baker (Filey) with 40pts, a clear five points ahead of Carl Baldwin (Scarborough South Cliff). Sutton Park's Alan Heasty was third on 34, just edging Richard Henriksen (Hull) on the last nine.

Division C was won by Hornsea's Shaun Prout with a best-of-the-day 42pt tally, although Ian Platten (Hainsworth Park) with 40 ran him close. David Thrower (Bridlington Links) was third on 37 and Roger Sago (Springhead Park) fourth on 33 on count back.

Competitors reached the final by winning the qualifying event on their home course earlier in the year. Proceeds raised by the competition went towards ERU junior coaching.

Josh McAspurn lifted the Meltham Trophy with an impressive 73-5-68 for a 141 aggregate and two-shot win over his good friend Gareth McMahon.

West End's monthly medal saw Chris Davison (77-14-63; Division One), Finn Sutcliffe (81-19-62; Division Two) and Angela Riley (95-28-67; ladies) emerge with the leading scores in their respective divisions and they qualify for the Annual Medal Final in September.

The medal doubled as the Veterans' Qualifier, in which Richard Stimpson was the leading qualifier with a net 65.

Keighley's Hesp Trophy went to Janet Clark and Shirley Jewkes with 37pts on count back from Dianne Appleyard and Judith Smith.

Les Sykes required three points fewer to claim the Midweek Stableford, by three from Charles Calvert.

The Keighley Club Trophy was won by Brian Dickinson, Andrew Hart and Stephen Brown (8-15) as they went within one point of a century.

Martin Cooper, Paul Davies and Adrian Robertson (0-7) were one back.