Yorkshire golf: Elaine Mackie enjoys major success at Crow Nest Park with Tartan Trophy win

Tartan Trophy winner Elaine Mackie, right, with lady captain Gwyn Greenberry, centre, and best gross shield winner Carole Hampson.
Tartan Trophy winner Elaine Mackie, right, with lady captain Gwyn Greenberry, centre, and best gross shield winner Carole Hampson.
Have your say

ELAINE MACKIE won the Tartan Trophy, a major ladies competition at Crow Nest Park, with a net 71.

Nineteen-handicapper Mackie won by two shots from Diane Higgins, who took second place on count back from Pam Hollingworth.

Carole Hampson, who earlier this year won the final Huddersfield, Halifax & District Ladies Winter Alliance at Bradley Park with Higgins and also the Buckwell Trophy with immediate past captain Mike Greenberry, took the best gross shield with a round of 87.

The Dartington crystal Tartan Trophy was donated to the ladies' section by Kathy Hitchcock in respect of her Aberdeenshire roots.

Hitchcock was the first lady captain at Crow Nest Park and was instrumental in the setting up of the ladies' section.

Catterick's ladies' club championship was won by Ruth Suffell (90-90-180) while Pat Weymes won the best net prize with scores of 76 and 73.

The ladies' silver medal was won by Vicky Iveson with a net 71, four shots lower than Gillian Dickie and five ahead of Sandra Jones. Pat Weymes won the bronze medal.

The ladies' par competition for the Simpson Trophy was won by Pat Weymes.

The men's Claret Jug Trophy - which saw players' net score added to the score of an allocated player in the Open championship at Royal Troon - was won by Anthony Martin with a 138-total with the assistance of Thongchai Jaidee (67 71).

Second was Jeff Mills who was aided by Open champion Henrik Stenson's closing 63.

The Ladies Hay Trophy was played for for the final time after 30 years with Sandra Jones emerging as the overall winner of the medal and trophy with a net 72.

Anne Moore was first in the silver division with a net 75, and Margaret Ferguso triumphed in the bronze with a 74.

Willow Valley's Saturday Stableford saw Josh Bell win the second class section with an excellent return of 47pts.

Runner-up Paul Jefferies produced a highly commendable 41 points and big handicap cuts resulted for both players.

The first class section was won by John Kelly with 37, one ahead of Glenn Kirk.

Sunday's Stableford was won by Steve Butcher with 42pts, five clear of James Stephen.

The winning tally in the second class section was also 42 with Dean Barker winning by a single point from David Webster.

Willow Valley's Medal 8 was won on count back by Jeremy Bakes (78-10-68). His fellow 10-handicapper James Stephen was runner-up because of Bakes's better inward half .

The second class section winner was Phil Narey with a net 70, beating Dean Barker into second place by a single shot.

A Texas Scramble, played from the Professional Blue tees, was won by the team of Mark Budby, Jamie Coote, Stephen Carrington-Ward and Pete Donaldson with a score of 57.4.

Hessle's Pro's Nine Hole Stableford winner was Bob Farrall with 20pts, two ahead of Michael Moulton.

Karl Thorne won the Pro's Stableford with 39pts on count back from Gary Allott.

Medal 5 Division One winner was Brendan Pallant (77-11-66), Division Two went to David Cheeseman (81-14-67) and Division Three to Ben Miller (86-18-68).