Batley Bulldogs 32 Halifax 16: Visitors’ ightback ended thanks to late tries

Batley Bulldogs' Wayne Reittie.' Picture Bruce Rollinson
Batley Bulldogs' Wayne Reittie.' Picture Bruce Rollinson
Have your say

Halifax suffered a significant defeat in the race for a top-four finish in the Championship as an impressive Batley Bulldogs triumphed at Mount Pleasant.

Richard Marshall’s visitors were very much in a nip-and-tuck contest at 20-16 with three minutes to go, when Batley full-back Dave Scott scored the match-clinching try.

Prop James Brown, such a handful for the visiting defence all afternoon, then rumbled over in the last minute to give the scoreline a flattering gloss.

The visitors made a near-perfect start, winning a penalty and scoring four plays later when the former Batley half-back Gareth Moore’s chip kick was pounced on by centre Steve Tyrer.

Tyrer converted off the sideline and the rest of the opening half hour was predictably intense. Batley eventually scored just before the half hour, half back Dominic Brambani unleashing a lovely kick that sat up perfectly for winger Wayne Reittie to score in the corner.

Pat Walker’s conversion attempt hit the post and bounced away, but the Bulldogs were over again six minutes later when centre Chris Ulugia poked his nose through the defensive line and found winger Shaun Ainscough, who touched down in the corner.

This time Walker was on target and he might have been lining up another attempt on the final play of the half had Ainscough managed to hold another Ulugia pass with the try line open.

Three minutes after the break, Richard Moore put loan signing Matt Sarsfield under the posts, Tyrer converting for a 12-10 lead.

Batley regained the advantage with Reittie’s second and then went 20-12 up when Pat Walker scored from close range.

Trailing 20-12 inside the final quarter, Halifax needed something special and they got it courtesy of Ben Heaton, who powered over in the corner, but it was Batley who had the final word.

Halifax: Greenwood; Saltonstall, Heaton, Tyrer, Sharp; G. Moore, Murrell; Bennion, B. Moore, Tangata, Manning, Sarsfield, Fairbank. Substitutes: Kaye, Ambler, R. Moore, Robinson

Batley Bulldogs: Scott; Reittie, Minikin, Ulugia, Ainscough; Southernwood, Brambani; Hirst, Davey, Rowe, Chandler, Bretherton, Blake. Substitutes: Walker, Gledhill, Lillycrop, Brown

Referee: M Woodhead (RFL).