Batley Bulldogs 44 Workington Town 12: Bulldogs leading the way after second-half display stuns Town

editorial image
Have your say

Batley Bulldogs are sitting proudly at the top of the Kingstone Press Championship table following victory over Workington Town.

The Bulldogs produced a clinical second-half display, playing down the Mount Pleasant slope, to run in 30 unanswered points and register a fourth win from their opening five matches.

Workington made a bright start and took a 16th-minute lead via Declan Hulme, Carl Forber adding a fine conversion.

Batley hit back when Keegan Hirst slipped the ball away to send Cain Southernwood over and Patch Walker landed the first of his eight goals.

Batley hit the front when Chris Ulugia leapt above the Town defence to gather Dominic Brambani’s crossfield kick to score.

Workington were on the wrong end of a heavy penalty count and had Jarrad Stack sin-binned for holding down and Walker landed the resulting penalty to put Batley 14-6 ahead.

Town’s 12 men responded well with a Brett Carter try, goaled by Forber.

Batley cut loose after the break and extended their lead as Alex Bretherton crashed over.

Brambani had a try ruled out for a forward pass but James Brown forced his way over for their fourth try.

Brambani’s lovely short pass sent Alistair Leak charging away to score between the posts.

Batley then produced a terrific sweeping move down the slope which resulted in Shaun Ainsough sending Southernwood over for his second try.

Batley capped off another impressive win when Brambani launched a crossfield kick which Alex Brown leapt to gather and score on his return to the club. Walker maintained his 100 per cent kicking record as Batley soared to the top of the table.

Batley Bulldogs: D Scott; Reittie, Cowling, Ulugia, Ainscough; Southernwood, Brambani; Hirst, Blake, J Brown, Bretherton, Gledhill, Walker. Substitutes: Lillycrop, Leak, A Brown, Rowe.

Workington Town: Murphy; Forrester, Hulme, Mossop, Carter; Forber, Sammut; Coward, Mattinson, Gordon, Phillips, Whiteley, McAvoy. Substitutes: Olstrom, Stack, Shackley, Verliner.

Referee: J Roberts (RFL).