Bradford 24 Halifax 32: Injuries cannot stop Halifax as late rally fails to save Bulls

Have your say

Halifax moved up to third in the Championship after securing their fourth successive win over Bradford Bulls with a 32-24 win at Odsal.

The game had barely begun when Ben Heaton was hurt in a collision on the right and play was halted for 13 minutes as the player received treatment before being transferred to a spinal board, then an ambulance.

Understandably, the Bulls seemed to cope with the delay better than their visitors, Kieren Moss scoring after a Paul Clough offload, Danny Addy converting for a 6-0 lead.

They were almost in again, Moss again the dangerman, and dominated the first quarter, winning penalty after penalty as their visitors struggled to find the pace of the game.

But when Halifax did secure some possession, they made it count, Adam Tangata romping over after half backs Gareth Moore and Scott Murrell had carved the Bulls defence open.

Steve Tyrer converted for a 6-6 scoreline before Murrell had a score chalked off for obstruction and winger Will Sharp was halted inches short on the left.

They grabbed the advantage going into half time though, Moore running at the line and Murrell backing up to score, Tyrer’s kick making it 12-6.

Bradford fell further behind when some neat passing put James Saltonstall over in the corner for an unconverted try.

The Bulls responded as Kurt Haggerty twisted over and Addy converting against a Halifax side down to 15 fit players after Matt Sarsfield limped off.

The visitors gave themselves some breathing space as Jacob Fairbank pounced for a try that Tyrer converted for a 22-12 lead.

Halifax secured victory with tries from Tyrer and Ed Barber, although Welham and Ryan crossed for tries to cut the deficit at Odsal.

Bradford: Moss; Clare, Welham, Blythe, Ryan; Addy, Charnock; Clough, O’Brien, Sidlow, Mellor, Haggerty, Pitts. Substitutes: Crossley, Kavanagh, Philbin, Howarth

Halifax: Johnston; Sharp, Heaton, Tyrer, Saltonstall; Moore, Murrell; Cahalane, Kaye, Tangata, Grix, Sarsfield, Fairbank. Substitutes: Ambler, Robinson, Barber, Boyle

Referee: C Kendall (RFL).