Bradford leave it late to see off Rams and keep up unbeaten run

Have your say

Bradford had to come from 12 points behind to overcome determined Dewsbury and maintain their 15-match unbeaten Championship run.

The Bulls needed four tries in the final half-hour after seemingly missing injured half-back and top try scorer Lee Gaskell’s creativity for much of the match.

The Rams, who began the day just a point off the top four, had the better of the first half and deservedly led 6-0 at the break.

An Aaron Brown break, carried on by Kieran Hyde led to Dalton Grant just failing to score in the corner, while an alert Hyde also scooped up a loose ball at the end of an Adam Sidlow-created Bradford attack and returned it to halfway before being caught by a try-saving tackle from Adam O’Brien.

The Bulls also wasted a gilt-edged chance when Danny Williams launched a similar attack down the other touchline, trading passes with Adrian Purtell over 70 metres, only for the final pass to Adam Henry to go to ground.

Five minutes before the break the Rams broke the deadlock through a jigging and twisting solo effort from Anthony Thackeray and shortly after the restart the lead was doubled when former Bradford back Karl Pryce rose to claim a cross-field kick from Hyde and score. Brett Seymour adding the goal each time.

The Bulls fightback began in the 51st minute when Henry burst onto a long pass from O’Brien and, five minutes later, the scores were level as Jake Mullaney’s break ended in Adrian Purtell crossing.

Bradford hit the front for the first time 13 minutes from the end as Hyde and Grant conspired to fumble the ball deep in their own territory and Addy pounced.

Purtell grabbed his second to seal victory, as Ryan Shaw missed his only conversion, although a Dale Morton try, goaled by Hyde, gave the Rams late hope.

Bradford: Mendeika; Williams, Purtell, Henry, Uasiele; Mullaney, Addy; Clough, O’Brien, Sidlow, Olbison, Ferguson, Pitts. Substitutes: Lauaki, Crossley, Blythe, Shaw.

Dewsbury: Hyde; Morton, Pryce, Hale, Grant; Seymour, Thackeray; Hepworth, Wildie, Jackson, Spicer, Adamson, Brown. Substitutes: Beckett, Smith, Delaney, Muranka.

Referee: C Leatherbarrow (RFL).