Featherstone Rovers 36 Batley Bulldogs 6: Featherstone off the mark with emphatic victory over Bulldogs

FEATHERSTONE stormed to their first win in the Co-operative Championship and inflicted Batley’s first league defeat.

Scrum-half Liam Finn scored two tries and landed six goals from six kicks as Rovers bounced back from a 36-10 hammering at Leigh.

Batley, who beat Dewsbury in their opening game, never looked like winning.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Jonny Grayshon was held up over the line as the Bulldogs did well to well to survive Featherstone’s early onslaught.

Bryn Powell rescued Rovers with a try-saving tackle on Ian Preece when Batley hacked the ball on after a Featherstone move broke down.

Rovers then took control with three tries in a blistering six-minute spell.

Finn sparked the scoring burst by forcing his way over after 21 minutes.

Skipper Stuart Dickens then plunged over from close range from acting half before Finn dummied his way through for his second touchdown and added his third goal to make it 18-0.

Rovers went close to increasing their lead when Sam Smeaton had an effort disallowed for a double movement and Ian Hardman was unable to take Grayshon’s pass with the try line wide open.

Batley came more into the game in the second-half but were thwarted by Featherstone’s solid defence.

Rovers increased their lead in the 58th minute when Finn, Tim Spears and Smeaton handled to put in Powell at the corner.

Andy Kain and Finn then made the opening for Andy Bostock to cross before Batley scored their only points five minutes from time when Gareth Moore converted his own try which came from half-back partner Paul Handforth’s high kick.

A minute’s silence was held before the game in memory of former Rovers physio Jimmy Williams and former club secretary Lewis Jarvis who recently died.

Featherstone Rovers: Hardman; Powell, Smeaton, Bostock, Saxton; Kain, Finn; Tonks, Kaye, Dickens, Grayshon, Spears, Worthington. Replacements: Mvududu, Williams, Carr, Dee.

Batley Bulldogs: Preece; Campbell, Williams, Maun, Reittie; Handforth, Moore; Smith, Lindsay, Hesketh, Brown, Bretherton, Manning. Replacements: Toohey, Walton, Tootill, Martin.

Referee: C Halloran (Batley).