Flying start for Siddal in Challenge Cup

Halifax side Siddal visit the RAF in the first round of the Ladbrokes Challenge Cup, while one of the most intriguing ties sees a derby as Sharlston Rovers – who defeated Dewsbury Rams in 2004 – make the short trip to Castleford Lock Lane.

Hull club Skirlaugh face new opponents when they host Aberdeen Warriors, while Leeds teams had mixed fortunes in yesterday’s draw which was conducted by ex-Great Britain coach Brian Noble and legendary winger Martin Offiah in the Wembley dressing rooms.

East Leeds and Oulton Raiders were both handed a home tie, but Hunslet clubs Warriors and Parkside both have to travel, as do Queens and Leeds Beckett University.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

East Leeds were drawn at home to Kells and Oulton Raiders will have home advantage against Scarborough Pirates.

Queens visit Featherstone Lions in one of the ties of the round, while Leeds Beckett University will make the trip to Elland, Hunslet Warriors travel to Loughborough University and Hunslet Parkside face a long journey to Cumbria to take on Walney Central.

Normanton Knights are at home to Myton Warriors and Shaw Cross Sharks will entertain York Acorn.

Full draw: Loughborough University v Hunslet Warriors, Oulton Raiders v Scarborough Pirates, Normanton Knights v Myton Warriors, RAF v Saddleworth, East Leeds v Kells, GB Police v Rochdale Mayfield, The Army v Wath Brow Hornets, Egremont v Wigan St Judes, Nottingham Outlaws v Blackbrook, Widnes West Bank v South West London Chargers, Shaw Cross Sharks v York Acorn, RAF v Siddal, Valley Cougars v Leicester Storm, Hull Dockers v Leigh Miners Rangers, Elland v Leeds Beckett University, Featherstone Lions v Queens, Lock Lane v Sharlston Rovers, Walney Central v Hunslet Parkside, Skirlaugh v Aberdeen Warriors, West Hull v Thatto Heath Crusaders.

The first-round ties will be played on the weekend of January 31-February 1, with the second round scheduled two weeks later.

n League One clubs enter in round three, Championship sides in round four, the bottom four from last year’s Super League in round five and the other top-flight clubs join the competition in round six.