Late strike from Grady ensures Rams hold off threat of Halifax

DEWSBURY RAMS snatched victory over West Yorkshire rivals Halifax with a late try in a dramatic game at the Tetley’s Stadium.

Dewsbury's Shane Grady.

In a game where the lead changed hands three times, Dewsbury scored what proved to be the winning try in the 77th minute when they spread the ball wide and Shane Grady crashed over. Halifax did have a chance to draw level but Steve Tyrer pushed his penalty kick wide of the posts.

Dewsbury made the worst possible start to the game when Dale Morton knocked on in the first tackle and Halifax subsequently forced three consecutive drop outs.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

The pressure told in the fifth minute when Tommy Saxton went in out wide. Tyrer extended Halifax’s lead in the 10th minute after Dewsbury were penalised for a ball steal and his penalty on the half-hour mark made it 8-0.

Dewsbury got on the scoreboard in the 35th minute when a grubber kick from Tom Hemmingway was well chased by Anthony Thackeray and he touched down for a converted try.

Dewsbury made a fast start to the second period and they went in front for the first time in the 44th minute when Austin Buchanan touched down.

Grayston kicked a penalty to extend Dewsbury’s lead to 14-8.

Halifax levelled the scores when a lovely reverse kick from Scott Murrell put Ryan Fieldhouse in under the posts. Tyrer converted and the game was all square again with 23 minutes remaining.

Both sides missed with penalty attempts and in the 71st minute Halifax thought they had won it when Callum Casey crashed over from close range. Tyrer hit the post with the crucial conversion and there was still hope for Dewsbury.

Grady’s late try, followed by Tyrer’s missed penalty, ensured it was the home side who picked up a vital victory.

Dewsbury Rams: Grayston, Morton, Beckett, Grady, Buchanan, Hyde, Thackeray, Dowes, Godwin, Aizue, Hepworth, Hale, Murphy. Substitutes: Hemingway, Nash, Haggerty, Gallagher.

Halifax: Fieldhouse, Reittie, Manning, Tyrer, Saxton, Murrell, Johnston, Tonks, Mennell, Ambler, Adamson, Divorty, Brooks. Substitutes: Bracek, Holden, C. Casey, Spencer.

Referee: J Cobb (RFL).