Sheffield 28 Halifax 24: Worrincy hat-trick helps Eagles see off Halifax

Have your say

Halifax fell to their third successive Super 8s defeat after Sheffield Eagles came from behind to win 28-24 at the Keepmoat Stadium.

Rob Worrincy’s hat-trick, including two in the second half, saw Halifax fall to defeat in poor conditions in South Yorkshire.

Richard Marshall’s men did hit the front just seven minutes in, with Adam Tangata getting only his second try of the season. Tangata followed up Ben Johnston’s break to dive over under the posts.

Ross Divorty then fumbled Pat Walker’s kick off to gift the home side territorial advantage.

The ball was fed wide to former Halifax player Worrincy who dived over in the corner.

Johnston soon took centre stage one again, producing an inch-perfect kick for Steve Tyrer to dive on in the corner. A third score soon followed, with Gareth Potts producing an inspirational full-length score after ripping the ball in a steal. Tyrer goaled all three scores to give the men in blue and white a 12-point lead.

As monsoon-like weather hit the Keepmoat, the Eagles got on the board just before the break, Walker crashing over following Cory Aston’s short pass.

Halifax made a sloppy start after the restart, none more so than from the kick-off, with the home side gaining possession right away, but were lucky to not be pegged back when Dominic Brambani knocked on close to the line. The Eagles were level soon after though, following a defence-splitting break by John Davies, he found Worrincy who slid away from Tyrer to score.

With influential half back Johnston off the field with injury, captain Scott Murrell stepped up to the mark with a stunning solo try to regain the visitors’ lead 10 minutes from time.

Late scores from Quentin Laulu-Togagae and Worrincy sealed Sheffield’s win.

Sheffield: Togagae, Turner, Yere, Smeaton, Worrincy, Aston, Brambani, Battye, Carlile, Stringer, Knowles, Straughier, Walker.Substitutes: Taulapapa, Davey, Davies, Tonks.

Halifax: Saltonstall, Potts, Heaton, Tyrer, Saxton, Johnston, Murrell, Tangata, Kaye, Cahalane, Divorty, Manning, Fairbank. Substitutes: Ambler, Bracek, Moore, Maneely.

Referee: C Kendall (RFL).