Hull 18 Huddersfield 25: Huddersfield edge out Hull to lift Cup

Hudderfield players celebrate their win
Hudderfield players celebrate their win
Have your say


THE 2011 Centurion Yorkshire Cup Final had everything as Huddersfield ran out deserved winners.

It was Hull who took the lead with a James Cameron penalty in the seventh minute, although two kicks from Chris Johnson handed Huddersfield a 6-3 lead.

Cameron levelled the scores after 22 minutes, but Johnson struck again to give his side the edge at the break.

Hull began the second-half strongly but, in the 49th minute when Johnson struck his fourth penalty of the night. Hull came back in the 56th minute when a forward drive caused Huddersfield to be penalised and, following a lineout, Hull produced a classic catch-and-drive resulting in Rob Devonshire getting the touchdown.

Cameron’s conversion was just wide from the touchline.

But Hull’s lead was short-lived when, four minutes later, a good Huddersfield move to the right saw winger James Wood score in the corner, although it was too far out for the conversion to be successful.

Shortly after, Huddersfield went down to thirteen men due to yellow cards, but Hull could not take advantage as they also had a man off the field.

In the 72nd minute, Hull lost a lineout and Lee Paxman raced 40 yards for a great individual try in the corner. Hull were not done, however and, three minutes later, another period of forward pressure resulted in another push-over try for Devonshire which Cameron converted to put Hull back in the game at 22-18.

In the closing minutes, Johnson capped a fine night with a drop goal to make it 25-18.

Huddersfield: D Hall, J Wood, B Paxman, L Paxman, S Pratt, C Johnson, J Hinchliffe, A Battye, B Morrill, T Stringwell, L Brown, G Rhodes, G Hinchliffe, G Lewis, N Sharpe. Replacements: A Lancaster, J Dauter, S Slater, D Western, D Clayton, N Clark, T Owen.

Hull: Martinson, A Piercy, O Cook, J Martin, W Robinson, O Hardisty, A Longbone, J Lamping, K Fullman, C Murphy, D Cook, A Campbell, S Onesi, R Devonshire. Replacements: M White, S Plevey, B Dorrington, P Murphy, C Foxton, G Lound, K Renwick.