Yere’s double lands Eagles cup final spot

Have your say

rugby league: Two tries from rampaging centre Menzie Yere earned Sheffield Eagles a place in the Northern Rail Cup final as they chalked up a record breaking 14th successive victory with a 32-10 win over Doncaster.

The game was closer than the score suggests but Sheffield’s superior finishing and defensive resilience made them worthy winners.

Eagles were the brighter side at the start as they pushed Doncaster deep into defence and their pressure was rewarded when loose forward Joe Hirst forced his way over from Tom Armstrong’s pass in the sixth minute with Dominic Brambani kicking the first of his four goals.

The home side immediately retaliated with a sustained spell of pressure of their own which led to winger Stewart Sanderson going over in the corner from Paul Cooke’s pass in the 12th minute.

Doncaster actually looked the better side for a spell after that but a try against the run of play from Yere turned the tide.

A lapse in defence opened up a gap and Yere’s strength and pace did the rest in the 24th minute.

Brambani scored a try in the corner five minutes later with Tom Armstrong sidestepping a weak challenge to stretch their advantage to 22-4 at the interval.

Any hopes of a Doncaster fightback were quickly ended when the Eagles grabbed a couple of early second-half tries.

A grubber kick from Armstrong led to Misi Taulapapa racing through for a fine try and Yere grabbed his second when he charged through between the posts.

Doncaster rallied in spirited style despite an injury to Cooke and full-back Lee Waterman wriggled over the line following a rare defensive lapse by the visitors, but Sheffield defended in confident style to ensure there was to be no late comeback.

Doncaster: Waterman, Butterfield, Cowling, Kaye, Sanderson, Cooke, Fawcett, Carbutt, Emmett, Castle, Kelly, Spurr, Trout. Substitutes: Hughes, Waller, Spiers, Edwards.

Sheffield Eagles: Togagae, Turner, Yere, Armstrong, Taulapapa, Walker, Brambani, Green, Henderson, Stringer, Knowles, Straughier, Hirst. Substitutes: Davey, Szostak, Garside, Higgins.

Referee: C Leatherbarrow (RFL).