Yorkshire golf: Parnell Reilly takes final step from Fixby caddie to captain of Huddersfield GC

FORMER PGA captain Parnell Reilly has begun his term as captain of Huddersfield GC in their 125th anniversary year.

Parnell Reilly, resplendent in Huddersfield GC red men's captain's jacket, with his predecessor Nick Ledgard (Picture: Anita Mandl).

Nick Ledgard handed over the reins at the club's AGM to retired club professional Reilly, who recalled his first experiences of the game as a caddie at Fixby.

He would caddy four times each weekend, earning a total of 30 shillings (£1.50), which "made me the richest boy at my school," he said.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

One shilling of his earnings went on a cup of tea and "plate of bread and dripping" to sustain him through the second round of the day.

Huddersfield GC's new men's and lady captain, Parnell Reilly and Liz Roberts (Picture: Anita Mandl).

“Fixby is the place where it all started for me as a caddie when I was a lad and without caddying at Fixby there is no way I would have got into golf, so it’s a very special place for me,” said Reilly.

Ledgard handed a cheque for £2,789 to the Forget Me Not Children's Hospice, the money having been raised during his year in office.

The AGM also saw Jean Gee officially stand down as lady captain, her badge of office being passed on to Liz Roberts.

Roberts, a member for over 20 years, is a highly proficient skier as well as golfer and was a very popular choice with all the members.

Huddersfield GC's new men's and lady captain, Parnell Reilly and Liz Roberts (Picture: Anita Mandl).

Thirty eight points proved the winning mark at Hornsea GC in both the Mid Week Stableford and in Divisions One, Two and Three of the ERUGC Millennium Stableford.

Danny Norton triumphed in the former, finishing two points clear of Martin Rowbotham. Peter Rotherham was third on 35pts.

In the ERUGC Millennium Stableford, Nathan Wright was the Division One winner and he, too, carded two points more than the runner-up, in this case Ady Rosindale, who took second spot on count back from Leigh Gawley.

Stephen Hawkins won Division Two, just one point ahead of runner-up Phil Kitchen and third-placed John Smallwood.

Division Three winner was Shaun Prout, on count back from Paul Wild. Matt McDonnell took third place with 35pts.

Lady Captain's Charity Vase was won by Wendy Lockwood with a net 75 off 13.

Patsy Yeates was second (101-25-76) and Angela Clappison third (87-10-77).

Dave P Blanchard required 37pts to win the NPFA Shield by one from Lee Nicholson, who took runner-up spot from Ross Meggison on count back.

The Junior April Medal was won by Harry Anderson (101-25-76) with Albert Anderson second (107-20-87).

Bracken Ghyll GC's first junior competition of the new season was won impressively by Morgan Grimshaw with 37pts.

Findlay Grimshaw placed second, six shots back, on a count back from Josh Brooks

Will Mawason was fourth on 29pts with junior captain Dan Pelkowski fifth.