Yorkshire golf: Sharon Clipperton triumphs on Lady Captain's Day at Forest Park

SHARON CLIPPERTON recorded a one-point victory in Lady Captain's Day at Forest Park.

Sharon Clipperton with Forest Park lady captain Karen Talbot.

Her 39pt total gave her captain Karen Talbot's first prize, Val Eccles placing second with 38, two points ahead of Majorie Ball.

The longest drive prize went to Sue Coutas and Maggie Stockdale won nearest the pin.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Terry Crompton and Charlie Hodges shot a 64 to win the Pro's Better Ball competition at Hessle, finishing two clear of Andy Greetham and Trevor Hewson.

Ben Miller was victorious in the Pro's Individual Stableford with 41pts, one ahead of Brian Brown who took second place from Shaun Kavanagh on count back.

The Pro's Nine Hole Stableford was won with 21pts by Tony Johnson, runner-up Liam Maddison two points adrift, and Keith Ward losing out to Maddison on count back.

Hornsea's Mid Week Stableford was won by Peter Mounfield, his 41pt tally one better than Adam Fell. Third place was taken by Paul Brummitt with 38.

Tony Hood (75-9-66) won Division One of the June medal, the second round of the Centenary Gold Medal.

Paul Lockwood (82-11-71) was runner-up and Dave Peasgood (77-6-71) third.

Division Two honours went to Stu Naylor (83-14-69), one shot ahead of Chris Reed (85-15-70), while Ray McKie (84-14-70) was third.

Colin Porrett (86-18-68) was Division Three winner, two ahead of James Leonard (90-20-70), who in turn was two in front of third-placed Gordon McGlynn (94-22-72).

Ladies' medal Division One winner was Nicky Salzl (85-14-71) who triumphed by an impressive eight shots from runner-up Barbara Teal (95-16-79).

Division Two honours went to Tracey Worsnop (96-21-75).

Catterick's Kathleen Fogarty Trophy, a fourball better ball competition, saw Sue Bailey and Anne Moore emerge victorious in the silver division with 68 points while Sue Dines and Jackie Hutt needed one fewer to prevail in the bronze division.

Senior Stableford honours went to Colin Hedworth, his 37pts placing him one in front of Dennis McGregor and two ahead of Brian De La Haye.

Alistair Bush won the Lombard Trophy qualifying event (78-15-63), Steve May (78-13-65) coming second and Ganeshkumar Gurung (77-9-68) third.

Keighley are to stage their first Business Challenge Golf Day on Friday, August 5.

The event will help raise funds for local charities, The Sue Ryder Manorlands hospice and the Danny Jones Defibrilator Fund, with prizes having been kindly sponsored by A1 Stairlifts.

For further details contact club professional Andrew Rhodes on 01535 665370 or email him @keighleygolfclub.com.

Bracken Ghyll are hosting a four-man open am-am on Friday, August 19. Cost is £70 per team of four.

Adults and juniors with official handicaps are all welcome.

Details available by visiting www.brackenghyll.co.uk or by ringing the pro shop on 01943 831 207.

Birley Wood's Stableford Cup was won by Wayne Caley with 41pts, Ian Houghton placing second with 39 on count back from Rene Besson.

Rudding Park's Andrew Ainley medal was won by Martin Schofield.

Gotts Park's Mark Dodson has qualified to play on the Trilby Tour.