Yorkshire golf: Three is the magic number as Harrogate's Third Division team championship ends in triple tie

THREE teams tied for the Harrogate & District Union Third Division team championship, the first time in the event's history.

The winning club captains, l to r, at the Harrogate Third Division team championship: Jon Clayton (Pannal), Paxton Dewar (Ilkley) and Andy Partridge (Oakdale).

Oakdale, Pannal B and Ilkley A could not be separated and will share the trophy after each four-man team compiled a 391 aggregate.

The medal competition, played off scratch, is for players in the 21-28 handicap range and was played at Ilkley GC.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Ilkley A were led home by Andrew Sutherland, who also won the individual award with an 84.

The 22-handicapper gathered no fewer than nine pars, plus one birdie, and would have dipped lower but for running up an eight and a seven on the back nine, the latter at the last.

He was well backed up by 25-handicapper Steve Curnow (99), and 22-handicappers Ian Appleby (101) and Graham Rawling (107).

Oakdale's lead scorer was 26-handicapper, Geoffrey Allsop who had four pars in his 93.

His team-mates were 22-handicapper Peter Wearmouth (97), 26-handicapper Mike Hughes (97), and 23-handicapper Ken Richardson (104).

Lead man for Pannal B was 21-handicapper Ian Webber who had four pars and showed consistency with 10 bogeys.

Their team was completed by 21-handicappers John Langham (95) and Paul Smith (102) and 22-handicapper Phil Hesketh (104).

Lawrence Batlley Seniors League's first week of fixtures saw only one match played, Low Laithes GC defeating Queensbury GC 7-1 at home, due to poor weather.

A huge contrast in the elements saw a full schedule completed in excellent conditions.

Queensbury earned great credit by recovering from their heavy loss at Low Laithes to beat perennial title-challengers Wortley GC 8-0 at home.

Low Laithes were unable to make it two in a row, narrowly beaten 5-3 at Bradley Hall GC where home captain David Middleton and LB committee member David Yendell were "trading birdies at will".

Other sizeable home wins were achieved by Crosland Heath GC, Elland GC, Crow Nest Park GC and Dewsbury District GC.

Hessle GC's Pro's Better Ball competition was won by James Woodhead and Paul Gainey with a 64, one ahead of Alistair Campbell and Brian Nicol .

The Pro's Individual Stableford saw James Layton win by two points with 37, Luke Ashford placing runner-up.

Mid Week Medal winners were Neil Grindell (Division One, 78-9-69) and Paul Marshall (Division Two, 90-18-72).

Graham Collins scored 20pts to win the nine-hole Stableford.

Emma Wilkinson carded a 73 to win Keighley GC's Ladies' Presidents Qualifier by a shot from Mo Watkinson, with Cheryl Brown one further back in third.

Wednesday medal honours went to Les Sykes with a 66, Will Whiteoak second on 68.

Overall victory in the Saturday medal and EGU Gold Medal Qualifier went to Steve Convery with an excellent 63, four ahead of Rhona Smith.

In Division One, Jamie Cunningham won with a 68, Richard Simpson (70) placing second.

Division Two winner was Ian Ratcliffe 68 and victory in Division Three went to Brian Hedges (69).

Paul Davies and Sheila Lewis (69.6) won the mixed greensome competition ahead of Debbie and Martin Jeffery (71.8).