The Counting House, Pontefract: See inside Yorkshire pub dating back to 1400 for the first time in a decade

The Counting House in Pontefract dates back to 1400 – but few have seen inside since it closed as a pub 10 years ago.

The medieval building’s owner, Guy Lister, invited The Yorkshire Post to see inside the timber-framed gem after confirming restoration work to bring it back into use had begun.

Specialist craftsmen and women are now on site to make the former merchant’s premises safe again ahead of a new tenant moving in – and Mr Lister is open to offers for a range of uses.

The Counting House was a pub from the 1980s until 2012, but for most of its history was subdivided into dwellings. There are a wealth of historic features and additions from different periods.

Images by Yorkshire Post photographer Tony Johnson.

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.