Else takes seven to stun Cup winners


All-rounder Warren Else ended Shadwell's hopes of a league and cup double.

Else bagged 7-17 and hit an unbeaten 37 to condemn Fred Fleetwood Cup winners Shadwell to a nine-wicket defeat against Wetherby that left them 14 points adrift of St Chad's, who retained top spot by crushing Scarcroft.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Jabber Ahmed (6-42) skittled Scarcroft for 83 and Steve Zwolinsky finished unbeaten on 40 as St Chad's knocked off the runs to stay two points ahead of defending champions Old Modernians.

Modernians coasted to a nine-wicket win against bottom side East Keswick, whose relegation was confirmed when Shaun Delaney (7-11) and Jarran Cook (3-18) routed them for 29.

Barwick-in-Elmet climbed to third place with an eight-wicket win against Kirk Deighton, who were toppled for 78 by Peter Causon (4-15) and Andy Bryant (4-18).

Ian Giddins (4-31) and Simon Taylor (3-29) bowled out lowly Walton for 142, replying to Spofforth's 234-5 that included half-centuries by Patrick Gannnon and Jonathan Ross.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Church Fenton stayed on course for the Division Two title when Dave Scott (103no), Richard Grogan (48) and Ismail Haji (5-28) led them to a 160-run win against Whixley.

Fenton are six points ahead of second-placed Garforth Parish Church, whose three-wicket victory at Sicklinghall featured an unbeaten 131 by James Stockton.

Brothers Andy, Martin and Steve Wood were Sicklinghall's best performers, with Andy (75) and Martin (69) sharing a 143-run stand and Steve claiming 4-33.

Henry Burton (76) and Tim Lambert (4-41 and 24no) gave Bilton-in-Ainsty the edge against Kippax, whose two-wicket defeat was hard on Andrew Radi (74) and Ian Prince (49no).

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Lee Rose (4-9) and Ben Philliskirk (4-25) set up Thorner Mexborough's easy win at Old Leos that put them 12 points clear of bottom side Crossgates, who lost to Bramhope.

Ali Rashid (91), Dan Hewer (5-21) and Moshin Idris (4-50) led Leeds Police A to a 149-run success against Saxton.

Related topics: