Patel strikes to lead Batley to promotion

BATLEY clinched the Division One championship with a 26-run win at Moorlands on the final day.

Batley finished two points ahead of Carlton, who pipped Moorlands for the second promotion place.

Mohammed Arshad (74no) and Ebrahim Laher (47no) shared an unbroken seventh-wicket stand of 127 as Batley recovered from 88-6 to post 215-6.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Huzaifah Patel (6-44) toppled Moorlands for 189 in reply, despite Chris Stott’s 99 off 114 balls.

Carlton made sure of second spot by crushing Wakefield Thornes, who were routed for 37 by Jonathan Rudge (6-11) and Gary O’Neill (4-25).

Ben Trevor-Jones (99no) and Garry Dawber (7-29) led Oulton to an 87-run win at Methley.

Buttershaw St Paul’s ended a three-match losing run by beating Liversedge who fell for 112 as Brad Greenwood took 6-48.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Premier Division champions Wrenthorpe coasted to a seven-wicket success at Altofts who were sent reeling from 38-0 to 100 all out by David Paynter (5-34), Greig Batty (2-18) and Joe Ellis (2-20).

Wrenthorpe finished five points clear of runners-up Methley, who recorded their seventh straight league win by beating Townville.

Chris Holliday (63) and Nick Connolly (59) shared a century stand in Methley’s 266-6 and Simon Purdy (3-42), Connolly (3-64) and Chris Smith (2-30) toppled Townville for 220 in reply.

John Trower (52), James Glynn (36) and Naveed Sayeed (34) led Townville’s scoring.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Joe Suggitt’s unbeaten 78 steered New Farnley to a six-wicket victory at Northowram Fields, who were routed for 123 by Ian Fisher (4-18), Dan Busfield (3-25) and Aaron Schier (2-25).

Nathan Glynn (38no), Scott Wightman (4-40), Matthew Varley (3-23) and Robert Stephenson (2-14) gave Wakefield Thornes the edge against Birstall.

A half-century by West Indian Ryan Hercules was in vain for relegated Wakefield SM, who collapsed from 88-2 to 143 all out, chasing Hunslet Nelson’s 199-9.

Ossett slumped to their 21st defeat in 22 matches at Mirfield PC when they fell for 62 against Daniel Hope (4-24), Graeme Winn (3-35) and David Winn (2-3).