Liam Cooper named in Scotland's provisional Euro 2024 squad despite lack of Leeds United gametime

Liam Cooper has been named in Scotland's Euro 2024 squad despite a lack of club football this season.

The Hull-born defender played the whole of their last match, the March friendly against Northern Ireland and was on the bench for the arguably more significant friendly, against the Netherlands, which preceded it.

But he has made just two appearances since – starting at Watford in the Championship match which immediately followed and coming on for an emotional substitute appearances 83 minutes into the play-off semi-final second leg against Norwich City, with Leeds already 4-0 up on the night and on aggregate. It could even prove to be his final game at Elland Road.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Of Cooper's 11 starts this season, only three have come in the Championship since Christmas as Joe Rodon and Ethan Ampadu have established themselves as a dependable centre-half partnership since Pascal Struijk's season was ended by injury.

Nevertheless, Cooper's importance to Leeds is based on what he brings to the squad, and that seems to have earnt him a place in the 28-strong provisional squad, which must be cut to 26 by June 7.

Clarke has named two uncapped players in Bristol City’s Ross McCrorie and Liverpool’s Ben Doak. Doak is only 18 and has not started a Premier League game for his club. His last first-team appearance was a start at Union St Gilloise in the Europa League in December.

Scotland have injury concerns over Grant Hanley and Ryan Jack, who have been struggling with injury since early March, and Southampton’s Stuart Armstrong, who missed the end of the regular Championship season and the play-off semi-finals.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

SQUAD: Angus Gunn (Norwich City), Zander Clark (Hearts), Craig Gordon (Hearts), Liam Kelly (Motherwell); Andy Robertson (Liverpool), Kieran Tierney (Real Sociedad), Jack Hendry (Al Ettifaq), Ryan Porteous (Watford), Liam Cooper (Leeds United), Scott McKenna (FC Copenhagen), Grant Hanley (Norwich City), Greg Taylor (Celtic), John Souttar (Rangers), Anthony Ralston (Celtic), Ross McCrorie (Bristol City); Callum McGregor (Celtic), Ryan Christie (Bournemouth), Billy Gilmour (Brighton & Hove Albion), John McGinn (Aston Villa), Kenny McLean (Norwich City), Scott McTominay (Manchester United), Stuart Armstrong (Southampton), Ryan Jack (Rangers); Lyndon Dykes (Queen's Park Rangers), Che Adams (Southampton), Lawrence Shankland (Hearts), Ben Doak (Liverpool), James Forrest (Celtic).

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.