Aldershot Town 3 Rotherham United 1: Arnason red card adds to misery as Millers exit

ICELANDER Kari Arnason compounded Rotherham United’s disappointment by being sent off for a second bookable offence as they crashed out of the Cup.

He got his first yellow for dissent and his second in the 86th minute for a late tackle and Millers chief Steve Evans had no complaints with the decision by referee Gavin Ward.

Danny Hylton’s hat-trick saw Aldershot reach the fourth round for the first time since the club reformed in 1992, though he, too, was sent off five minutes from the end for an off-the-ball offence which sent Jason Taylor to the ground.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

The Aldershot striker scored with a close-range effort, a header and a low drive to put the hosts 3-0 up.

Lee Frecklington made it 3-1 from the penalty spot in the 71st minute after defender Ben Herd had handled.

Two minutes later, Rotherham went so close to scoring again. Odejayi flicked on, Morgan neatly eased the ball into the path of Frecklington, who shot past Young but the ball struck a post.

Despite them having dominated possesion after the break, it was not enough and Rotherham manager Steve Evans blamed defeat on individual errors against a side fourth from bottom of League Two, but one which had suffered only three defeats in their last 14 league games.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“If you make bad individual errors, you’ll get punished whether it’s a league club or a non-league club you are playing, ” said Evans.

“For the first goal, Nardiello jumped out of a tackle and then for the second there were two mistakes with Pringle not tracking a runner and Bradley getting the wrong side of his man. I think in the second half we dominated the game.”

The Millers must now focus on gaining promotion, starting with Saturday’s visit of Barnet.

Aldershot: Young, Herd, Brown, Hector, Tonkin, Aaron Morris, Cadogan (Mekki 83), Rose, Bradley, Vincenti, Hylton. Unused substitutes: Glenn Morris, Rankine, Sinclair, Bergqvist, Reid, Roberts.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Rotherham United: Warrington, Bradley, Arnason, Mullins, O’Connell, Pringle, Taylor, O’Connor (Adam Morgan 46), Frecklington, Nardiello (Cameron 46), Revell (Odejayi 60). Unused substitutes: Thompson, Sharps, Agard, Walker.

Referee: G Ward (Surrey).

Man of the match: Danny Hylton.