Jackson admits he knew little of British equaliser

Great Britain’s two-goal saviour Ashley Jackson admits even he does not know whether he got a touch on his late equaliser in the Pool A 2-2 draw with South Africa.

Initially on-field official Roel van Eert awarded the 68th-minute goal, which came from Richard Smith’s driven cross from the left, but then decided to check with the video umpire.

Replays on the Riverbank Stadium screen were inconclusive but the video umpire has access to more shots and the goal was ruled good.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

It helped snatched what could turn out to be a valuable point for GB, captained by Doncaster’s Barry Middleton, after the game was turned on its head after Jackson’s 14th-minute penalty corner when South Africa struck twice through Austin Smith and Jonathan Robinson in the last 10 minutes.

“It just flies in, bouncing everywhere, with bodies everywhere and it ends up in the back of the goal,” Jackson said.

The disappointment etched on the players’ faces afterwards told its own story and Jackson accepted they had under-performed.

“We didn’t turn up today. We weren’t good enough,” he added.

“They shouldn’t be able to compete with us when we play our best game and we didn’t.”