Golden Boot: Three England stars in running to be crowned international player of year

England trio Tom Burgess, Victor Radley and George Williams are in the running for the prestigious Golden Boot as international player of the year.

They are seeking to emulate current team-mate Tommy Makinson, who won the prize in 2018, while Ellery Hanley, Garry Schofield, Andy Farrell and Kevin Sinfield are the other England recipients of an award that was introduced in 1984.

The current holder is New Zealand’s Roger Tuivasa-Sheck following his triumph in 2019, since when the award has endured a two-year hiatus due to Covid.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Two-time Golden Boot winner Cameron Smith (Australia), James Graham (England) and Ruben Wiki (New Zealand), who are all former Test captains, will help select the winner after this weekend’s semi-finals, while former England international Adrian Morley will make the presentation.

The International Rugby League Women’s and Wheelchair Golden Boot trophies will also be presented at The Midland Hotel in Manchester next Tuesday in the build-up to the World Cup final at Old Trafford on Saturday week.

Other names on the men’s long list, which has been put together by a panel of journalists and commentators, include Australia winger Josh Addo-Carr, New Zealand pair Joey Manu and Jahrome Hughes and Samoa’s Jarome Luai.

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.