Team Sky and Wiggins headline Tour de Yorkshire field

Team Sky and the new squad set up by Sir Bradley Wiggins will headline the inaugural Tour de Yorkshire this May.

Britain's Bradley Wiggins is confirmed as competing with his new team in the Tour de Yorkshire. (AP Photo/Daniel Ochoa de Olza)

The full list of 16 teams was announced in Scarborough on Wednesday morning, the destination for the finish of the first stage on Friday, May 1.

Team Sky will be joined by Giant Alpecin - for whom sprint sensation Marcel Kittel is the star - and Team Wiggins.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

One hundred riders will race for the 16 teams.

Also included is the new One-Pro team founded by former England cricketer Matt Prior.

The teams are:

BMC Racing

IAM Cycling


Lotto NL-Jumbo

Team Sky


Cult Energy Pro-Cycling

MTN - Qhubeka


Roompot Oranje Peloton

Topsport Vlaanderen-Baloise

Madison Genesis


One-Pro Cycling

Team Wiggins

Great Britain National Team

The Tour de Yorkshire will take place on May 1-3. Stage 1 on Friday May 1 starts in Bridlington and finishes in Scarborough. Stage 2 on Saturday May 2 starts in Selby and finishes in York with a women’s race also on day two.

One of the first major names confirmed as taking part in the women’s race on day two is Dame Sarah Storey, one of Great Britain’s most decorated female Paralympians in history having won 11 gold, eight silver and three bronze medals across six Paralympic Games.

Stage 3 on Sunday May 3 starts in Wakefield and finishes in Leeds.

The race will be shown live on television in the UK on ITV, on Eurosport and in more than 70 countries around the world – a huge television audience is expected.